never had a problem until now

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by lynchknot, Aug 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I have used F11 restore several times with success but now when trying to incrementally backup drive C in secure zone I recieve this error with build 764 - is this build no good?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2004
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Well, I'd say that's a relatively clear indication that your hard drive is dying. You should probably run Smartmontools to check the SMART status of the drive. ( smartctl -a /dev/hda , or hdb, or hdd, etc...)

    Also consider running the diagnostics provided by your manufacturer.
     
  3. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Hard drive dying? It's only a few months old! What's hard disk 3? I only have 2 HD's and the other is a Ram Disk - could that be it?
     
  4. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    What does that have to do with anything? Post your Smartmontools results for the drive.
     
  5. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    please read above - (edited post)
     
  6. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Is there some reason you don't want to post the SMART results?
     
  7. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    No I have not even downloaded it yet mr. patience. :mad: - sorry.

    AND I do not know how this works yet. I see bin and doc folders

    *edit - what the hell is this? Like I know about this.....

    Sorry but I don't know this. Isn't there an easier way to test HD? And again, is it reading my ram disk as an HD? therefore no need for all this....
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2004
  8. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Yeah, as a matter of fact there is. I would like to know what Hard Disk 3 is!!!! If is is reading my Ram Disk as Hard Drive then posting SMART results is pointless.You failed to read my post and just insist on me posting something that I did not even download yet....give me a break please...........
     
  9. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    That's fine. Just trying to help.

    Good luck.
     
  10. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I know and i'm sorry for getting angry - just please read my post before passing advice please. I don't want to perform unnecessary operations. I deleted ram disk - this is the result:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2004
  11. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Glad to hear it's working for you.

    But keep in mind that checking your SMART status is not an unnecessary step. Even if things are working OK for you, it is part of routine PC maintenance. You can choose ignore this information, but be aware that you are taking an unnecessary risk by doing so.
     
  12. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    ok thanks but I do not understand how to install SMART. Is there something easier?
     
  13. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    I said how to run it in my first reply
    smartctl -a /dev/hda (or hdb or hdc, etc....)

    If you can't figure it out, there's always programs like HDD Health or others. (Though they're not quite as thorough as smartmontools.)
     
  14. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    whatever smartass. You sure think you are the sh*t don't you. If you want to insult me then try doing what I do (css, js, some xml - Firefox themes) - ok maybe you already know that. I've only been playing with computers for only 2 years. I have no idea what smartctl -a /dev/hda - is - ok genius?

    The only thing I can guess it to enter that into cmd prompt.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2004
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    lets not get to heated here gentlemen, lets keep it civil.

    thanks
    bigc
     
  16. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    my only guess since this is an "on your own no help guessing game"

    in cmd: smartctl -a /dev/hdc - for C drive

    smartctl -a /dev/hdd - for D drive etc......

    *edit does not work

    it's ok bigc73542 - this is how most all security forums are. filled with "know it alls" who have little patience for anyone who is less infromed and act as stated - it's very typical.

    Tech boards are much more friendly, patient, and willing to be helpful. I suppose I should go there. Thread closed then - as far as i'm concerned.. sorry.
     
  17. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    You know, I've had more rewarding relationships than this one. You ask for help, I give it, and then you insult me.

    Take it or leave it. If you get frustrated, this is not the place to vent.
     
  18. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    who insulted who? it was you. First you would not even read my post and turns out YOU WERE WRONG and still have not answered my original question - I guess you just don't know - instead why don't you say you don't know instead of changing the subject? smarty. Answer the original question or don't try to help if you don't know. What is frustrating is guys like you who ignore the question and make demands.
    Is there some reason you would not answer my question about what is hard disk 3? Perhaps avoiding the question because you don't know?

    Helping involves listening/answering - it is paramont in relationships as well which i'm beginning to doubt your statement "rewarding relationships" One sided dialog does not make a good relationship.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2004
  19. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It doesn't look like any further good will come of this thread so I am going to close it


    bigc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.