Neutralizing the Intel Management Engine Now Possible on Ivy/Sandy Bridge CPUs

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by Anonfame1, Nov 28, 2016.

1. Anonfame1

Anonfame1 Registered Member

https://hackaday.com/2016/11/28/neutralizing-intels-management-engine/

This seems like HUGE news to me. Its not anywhere near as good as having open hardware, but I'll take being able to disable it! I have an Ivy Bridge CPU, but its a laptop and I've never done anything of this scope before- I would do this in a heartbeat on a desktop.

**EDIT** First time posting a news link; I didnt put in a quote...

Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
  2. plat1098

plat1098 Guest

OOOOO. I yelled about Intel's creepy stuff months ago. Now, a faint glimmer of hope. I don't know what the author means here: "With a BeagleBone, an SOIC-8 chip clip, and a few breakout wires, this script will run and effectively disable the ME." but it sounds like inroads. Thank you, thank you for this article that says "it's potentially possible to rid your machine of this Hydra. Someday, maybe." :)

3. Anonfame1

Anonfame1 Registered Member

It explains it here. It's certainly not for the faint of heart; Im debating whether to try it myself- I have an Ivy bridge Thinkpad so it should work, but its my only computer atm. Id rather try this with a desktop machine where I have easier access (and if I fry something, Im only out a $200 motherboard instead of $800 motherboard).

But make no mistake- this can be done now if you've got the hardware and the guts. Its certainly good news :D

4. deBoetie

deBoetie Registered Member

The other good news - if it works - is that it could be semi-industrialised, or at least be made into a cottage industry.

Just waiting to see if they claim this is anti-DRM....

5. quietman

quietman Registered Member

Agreed .

That whole Intel ME business has been a stone in my shoe since I first read about it , and I just assumed that I'd have to live with it for all time .