"Network Connections" displays nothing!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by simo1337, Nov 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simo1337

    simo1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    When I go to "protection status > network connections" there's nothing in the list, despite active connections being established. Firewall is on (interactive mode) and my rules are still effective.

    I'm on Vista SP1/32bit.
    Has anyone experienced such a weird issue ? (it persists even after a reboot)

    Thank you.
     
  2. MathewG

    MathewG Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Hello simo1337,

    By default, some network connections are hidden from view. If you look at your network connection portion of your protection status section, right click in the open area on the right hand side (the big white area), and ensure you have check marks on the following:

    "Show listening connections"
    "Show connections within the computer"

    Also, ensure you remove the check mark from:

    "Only show TCP connections"

    This will show all your active connections that are currently being detected.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you have a chance to try a different network card brand in case the problem's caused by incompatibility of its driver?
     
  4. stimulator32

    stimulator32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    104
    Problem is not with the drivers of the card, it is withe the program itself.

    when I use XP OS the problem disappeares, but with Vista and 7 the problem comes back .. All that with the same card brand ..
     
  5. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just curious, if you click 'Open in new window' option at the bottom of the network connections page, does it open a window showing the connections?
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I guess it might be a mutual problem of NDIS 6 drivers used on Vista/Win7, hence I was wondering if installing a different NIC with different drivers would make a difference.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.