Network connections blank

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Tarnak, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I was wondering why I cannot see my network connections.

    Recently, I took up the GAOTD free offer for Online Armor.

    When I installed it last week, I only disabled the drivers for Sygate and created a System Restore point in XP.

    However,I could not connect to the internet. That was the first time that I saw the blank > Network Connections. So I rolled back to a restore point that I had made before the install of Online Armor.

    Why I am seeing it now, before I am about to uninstall Sygate, and try to install Online Armor again has got me perplexed.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 0peratorX

    0peratorX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Okay, this may work if your files are still intact and not somehow infected.

    But, it is non-destructive and should restore your connection visibility on a "normal" XP system.

    Start >> Run
    type "CMD" then click "Ok"
    (this should bring up cmd.exe)

    If not, try the "Win" key (small windows icon) + R (touching the windows key and tapping the R key once, then releasing both)

    run the following 3 commands:
    regsvr32 netman.dll
    regsvr32 netcfgx.dll
    regsvr32 netshell.dll

    These commands will re-register three important libraries needed for TCP/IP in Windows XP that could have been redirected/shimmed by the program that you uninstalled (which subsequently did not return the dll's to the correct configuration).

    Anyway, HTH and good luck!
     
  3. 0peratorX

    0peratorX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Also, you can try this:

    winsockxpfix

    It is recommended here:

    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/winsock.htm.

    But, I would suggest trying to re-register the dlls manually first due to the simple nature of the method and the likelihood that it will fix your issue.

    (plus, I have never actually used the program I linked above, but I did download it - seems to be clean / okay. So, caveat emptor!)
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Hello 0peratorX,


    Thanks for your suggestions. I was about to try them...

    However, I thought I would check services.msc and that is when I noticed Network Connections was set to manual, so I changed to automatic and rebooted. The connections folder is no longer blank. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. 0peratorX

    0peratorX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Awesome.

    I always desire the most simple resolution.

    Your answer was better than mine. :D

    I will try to remember to suggest this is checked first if asked again!

    X
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Me, too! :D

    I think I turned it off when I ran into problems after the OA install the other day.
     
  7. abels

    abels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    Danang, VN
    I met this problem before when I uninstall Pctools Firewall Plus and install Comodo Firewall.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.