Netstumbler's result is not matching with my security setup

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by rOadToIS, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I configured my wireless network to use WPA2-PSK(AES) encryption method and to not broadcast its SSID. However, when I ran Netstumbler, it's DETECTING my network although I set it to not broadcast SSID, and it also displays my encryption method as WEP. I double checked my wireless network settings, but there was nothing wrong! Does anyone know what's going on? o_O
     
  2. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
  3. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    As above, netstumbler looks at any encrypted network as if it is WEP.
     
  4. rOadToIS

    rOadToIS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    168
    I scanned my network with inSSIDer, but it still displays my SSID. It correctly recognized the encryption method though.
    Well, I guess I would have to give up on hiding my SSID. LOL
    Thanks for the reply by the way.
     
  5. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    By default, access points broadcast the SSID in every beacon frame. Even if you disable SSID broadcasting, you can still easily find the SSID in the association frame when a wireless client joins the wireless LAN. So it doesn't take much sniffing to find it. And can cause association problems for some networks.
     
  6. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi rOadToIS :)


    Are you using XP or Vista?

    If you're using - Vista...
    I Know Just What You Need - Here : http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.aspx?li=a071c8b7-c006-4a87-a0bf-54b3c870f1c2&bt=1&pl=1

    You will also find their website really helpful ... More Info ... And PDF Guides http://www.xirrus.com/ :cool:

    Unfortunately!
    The gadget as a Sidebar Gadget does tend to put a bit of strain on CPU :(
    However!
    You can either just drag it out of your Gadget House ( Whatever it's Called ) when you need it.. Like I Do! ;)
    OR... The PDF Guide does tell you what setting to change.. To Reduce CPU Usage :thumb:

    This gadget does everything you need to keep check of your wireless.
    And the whole neighbourhoods too :D


    Happy Easter :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.