need to verify something.......

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by savagcl, Feb 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    When i go to upgrade the original version 9 (to the version 9 update), I need to
    do the control panel Add/Remove to uninstall the original 9.0, right?

    Since my bootable CD isnt working and while i'm waiting on the problem
    solving team to get back to me, i thought i would try the uninstall/reinstall of
    version 9.0 update (build 2337).

    thanks,
    savagcl
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagcl

    Sorry to ask?

    But I can not see what it is you asking that needs to verified, could you explain a bit more please?

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    TheQuest,

    OK.
    I had the ATI original version 9.0 loaded with build 2289 (as far as i know, the restore cd would work).
    Found out there was an update to 9.0 (build 2337).
    I downloaded the update and then i did a control panel Add/Remove to uninstall the 2289 build of 9.0
    Then i updated (read "Installed") to ATI 9.0 build 2337.

    Far as i can tell, the backup TIB files are working just fine.
    But the restore CD wont bootup the system.

    While i'm waiting for the problem report guys to respond to me, i was wondering if i did another
    uninstall of ATI 9.0 (this time build 2337) and then did a install of the updated (again 237) version 9.0
    Maybe that would correct whatever is wrong........

    Thanks for replying,
    savagcl
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2006
  4. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Never mind. I did the uninstall and reinstall with no difference.

    savagcl
     
  5. deerwood

    deerwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Hi savagcl,

    did you create a new Boot-Cd with the current TI Build 2337? If not, then you definitely should do that and try to boot from it!

    regards, Georg
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagcl

    Did you not test it?

    When you say it will not bootup the system, do you mean that it does not boot in to the Acronis TrueImage Options Sceen? or something else?

    And I have to ask this with no offence ment, Is your BIOS set to boot from the CD-Rom as first boot device?

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Yes, the CD-ROM is the first boot device in my bios (never hurts to check).

    Correct , on trying to boot from the CD, i just get the first line "Starting acronis
    loader" or words to that effect. and nothing afterwards at all, just that line
    and a blinking cursor.

    Acronis support is working with me to find the problem....

    thanks for the reply,
    savagcl
     
  8. goodsurf99

    goodsurf99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Rockledge, FL , USA
    I had a CD read/write device go bad recently. No error messages or anything. The CDs it created just couldn't be read. When I swapped out the CD device all was fine. I used the "broken" unit for a read-only device in a spare machine for awhile, and then I started getting the problem with Acronis Boot and Western Digital Boot disk would not boot that system. I just tossed the drive. It may have just been dust inside the unit, but those things are not made to be disassembled and cleaned. And for $29 you can get a decent new one on sale.
     
  9. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    goodsurf99,

    I tested the CD (DVD\CD combo) with read, write and its fine. Files can be
    written to it and i can read those files back to the HD.

    thanks,
    savagcl
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I won't argue about throwing it away when trouble occurs given the price of a new one. However, I have sucessfully restored dirty drives with a disk cleaning CD (has a little brush on it) and also by taking the cover off and wiping the lens very carefully. How easy it is to get at the lense may be device specific.

    Interestingly, the lenses looked clean to the naked eye but examining them under a 10X magnifier reveals a uniform coating of very fine dust all over the surface. One of the early symptoms of a dirty lens can be slower than normal writing rates.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello savagcl,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request # (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which can be found in the subjects of the letters that you received from our Support Team? We will review the correspondence and see what more can be done regarding your issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.