need help

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by the dummy, Jun 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the dummy

the dummy Registered Member

Im running my browser through sandboxie, backed up by returnil, with avast 5 home freeware, my routers firewall, windows firewall, and U.A.C. Anything missing? Oh yea, Vista 32.

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

No, nothing missing

3. the dummy

Thank you for replying. Im new to all of this, and any help is a blessing.:)

4. philby

philby Registered Member

Maybe a good baseline system image to fall back on if it all goes pear-shaped?

philby

5. the dummy

I have a few restore points to fall back on, is this good enough?

6. crofttk

crofttk Registered Member

A complete system image that can be reliably restored would be a much more robust fallback than a restore point.

Both belt and suspenders are a good strategy in security but, metaphorically speaking, you can't beat a good set of bootstraps!

7. the dummy

Thank you for responding, however my computer skills and knolledge base are quite pathetic. Im not sure i understand the difference, that is why im relying on enough protection to keep me out of trouble untill i can aquire the correct information & skills. I was also thinking about adding steady state to my config, but im wondering if this would be too much, and possible conflict with something else.

8. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

Steady state is no longer supported. You are fine except imaging which is by far the most important part of any setup. Just use the forum search function as there are many good freebies available :thumb:

Edit: If you do online shopping or banking, you might want to look at additional browser security such as Prevx SafeOnline.

9. the dummy