need help with Anti-Executable

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by arran, Feb 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    downloaded Anti-Executable by faronics to try out.

    how do you disable the program so you can instal other things??

    Ive tried clicking on the icon but nothing happens.

    and there is no program icon any where to configure it.

    I have no control over my pc I'm completly locked out.
     
  2. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Press the Shift Key down and click on the AE-icon and you will get access to the configuration of AE

    A long read on AE HERE.

    I also suggest you read the user's guide, AE is definantly differant then other security software.
     
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Press the shift key and then double click on the icon. It'll pop right up. If you haven't done it, set a good password and remember it because you'll need it every time you open AE.

    Once it's open, you can turn it on or off and configure it.
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Must be something interfering with your tray icon so............

    Use the keyboard hotkeys of CTRL + SHIFT + ALT + F10 in that order which should bring up your Login Dialog.

    Keep us informed.

    EASTER
     
  5. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Also of note: Since you do have a tray icon make very sure your pointer is pressing SHIFT firmly and double click quickly.

    I run across this before, should eventually work for you.
     
  6. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    yea thanks guys, it was shift key which I didn't know about before.working now.

    also how good is Anti-Executable preventing malware from being installed??

    has any one tested it or has it been tested on live Malware before??
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    It will do great on one hand as nothing that can run if allowed. But if you accidently install a bad program, it's useless. You have to deactivate it to install, and then it allows whatever you install.

    Pete
     
  8. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Anti-Executable tests :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.