Need help creating Windows Batch file - Open multiple folders maximized.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by paulescobar, Apr 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    Background:

    I regularly use a number of folders.
    I don't like having to manually open them one-by-one.
    So I wanted to create a batch file which could open them all, maximized.

    I have very little experience with command line stuff.
    So I searched the web for help.

    Problem:

    I managed to open multiple folders using this kind of code:
    Code:
    explorer C:\windows
    explorer C:\Program Files
    explorer C:\
    Problem is, they open in "windowed" mode (basically shrunken windows).
    I'd like them to open "maximized".

    Question:

    What code allows me to open multiple folders maximized?
    o_O
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    When working with windows and batch files, you should see this most excellent program to help you.
    http://www.commandline.co.uk/cmdow/

    Learn to use it, a very nice tool to help all your batch endeavors.

    Sul.
     
  3. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    You can do this:

     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  4. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    May I suggest using Xplorer^2 as your file manager? It lets you use two panes, and bookmarks of your favorite folders. I always have 4 tabs open in each pane - 3 are for folders I use very commonly, and 1 is for transient use. I use the free Lite version - heavy enough in features for my needs.
     
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the tip Sully :). Have you tried NirCmd?
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Yes I have. It is a good app. The only thing I don't like about it is you have to include it to a computer that does not have it to use it, same as cmdow. Not a big deal, but it is always nice to place a script on a computer with no dependencies. But nirCmd is pretty good when you need what it provides.

    Sul.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.