Need help creating Windows Batch file - Open multiple folders maximized.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by paulescobar, Apr 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    Background:

    I regularly use a number of folders.
    I don't like having to manually open them one-by-one.
    So I wanted to create a batch file which could open them all, maximized.

    I have very little experience with command line stuff.
    So I searched the web for help.

    Problem:

    I managed to open multiple folders using this kind of code:
    Code:
    explorer C:\windows
    explorer C:\Program Files
    explorer C:\
    Problem is, they open in "windowed" mode (basically shrunken windows).
    I'd like them to open "maximized".

    Question:

    What code allows me to open multiple folders maximized?
    o_O
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    When working with windows and batch files, you should see this most excellent program to help you.
    http://www.commandline.co.uk/cmdow/

    Learn to use it, a very nice tool to help all your batch endeavors.

    Sul.
     
  3. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    968
    You can do this:

     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  4. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    May I suggest using Xplorer^2 as your file manager? It lets you use two panes, and bookmarks of your favorite folders. I always have 4 tabs open in each pane - 3 are for folders I use very commonly, and 1 is for transient use. I use the free Lite version - heavy enough in features for my needs.
     
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the tip Sully :). Have you tried NirCmd?
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Yes I have. It is a good app. The only thing I don't like about it is you have to include it to a computer that does not have it to use it, same as cmdow. Not a big deal, but it is always nice to place a script on a computer with no dependencies. But nirCmd is pretty good when you need what it provides.

    Sul.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.