Need help, cannot start in safe mode

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by deebo, Nov 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    Hi all, I have recieved help on this forum before so I thought this would be the best place to start but did not know which topic to list it under so I chose this one.
    I cannot restart my computer in safe mode. It goes thru the initial boot up and then freezes with a small window that says "Information, out of scan range, Input2:hd15, 35.5khz/87hz". Thinking it had something to do with my screen resolution I change it to 800x600 in Properties, settings. Still freezes with the same above message when I try to start in safe mode. I have to manually reboot the computer to get it to restart as no keyboard controls do anything.
    What could be wrong here and how do I fix it.
    Thanks for any help on this
    Dee
    PS, I did submit my HJT log to CastleCops 5 days ago but have not heard anything yet. Also, My puter is sloooowing down when I try to start a progam. Not all, just some of them.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2005
  2. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    It does usually mean that your refresh rate is to high for your monitor. Try to change the refresh rate.
     
  3. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    Thanks, I'll try that and see what happens.

    Dee
     
  4. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    I cannot change the refresh rate as no other options are offered. 60 hertz is default I assume, and no others are listed. What else can I do?

    Thanks ....Dee
     
  5. J at A

    J at A Guest

    Hi Dee,

    Can you (if you like, but I leave that decision of course up to you) post the link to that thread?

    Regards,
    Jan.
     
  6. RipVanTinkle

    RipVanTinkle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    try MultiRes

    http://www.entechtaiwan.com


    what type of graphics card do you have?
    there are sometimes hidden settings and
    some nice fixer type apps for NVidia for example
    which will force refresh rates
     
  7. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    Here is the link to my CC's post, I will be under the name of Steelxx: <http://castlecops.com/t137665-My_HJT_Log.html>

    I hope it works as this is new territory for me. :p

    How do I find out what type of graphics card I have o_O

    Thanks for any and all help anyone can provide.

    Dee
     
  8. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  9. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    Thank you snowbound. I'll try glad.

    Dee
     
  10. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    To find your graphics card In windows xp

    Open control Panel
    open system
    click on Hardware
    click on device manager
    this shows all your computer devices
    expand display adapters and you should see the name of your graphics card

    Hope this helps
     
  11. deebo

    deebo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    sc
    Thanks Tex,
    My grahics card is SiS 650_651_740. Good or bad? I'm sure it could be better. :doubt:

    Dee
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    deebo,

    Scroll to the top of the forum .... on the left you'll see User CP, click it then List Messages again on your left. ;)
    If your having trouble it's most likely due to some sort of Pop-Up blocker.


    GF
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.