Need another Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ErikAlbert, Sep 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Dear Firewall Knowledgeable People (FKP),

    I need another Firewall under WinXPproSP2 :
    1. No Look'n'Stop
    2. No Comodo Firewall
    3. No ZoneAlarm
    4. No Norton
    5. Without Activation
    6. As good as possible, but userfriendly or at least ready-to-use.
    7. No combination with AV, AS, ... a pure Firewall (no blacklist thingies)
    8. Free or paid, doesn't matter.
    9. NO BETA

    Forgot the main thing : Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    What about the Windows Firewall? Sygate free?

    There is also Kerio 2.1.5 but I dont know if it would fulfill your fourth condition.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    You didn't say "No beta" so I recommend you give a try to PCTools firewall 3.0.0.29 beta.

    There is an extensive discussion thereof on THIS Wilders thread. Stem is in on that duiscussion.

    Good hunting!
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    How about Sygate?
    Mrk
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That is a possible. Thanks.
    Sygate didn't install itself properly. The icon did react on a mouse click.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  6. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Filseclab is light and user-friendly...has a wizard if you want easy, and you can set your own rules.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That is also a possible. Thanks. Can also survive in a frozen snapshot, which is a requirement.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Sygate free +3
     
  9. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi all,

    Sygate and Kerio 2.1.5

    MaB
     
  10. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Location:
    Canada
    Kerio 2.1.5 is great, I used it for many years but it's not compatible with Perfect Disk and I think Erik Albert is using Perfect Disk.:D
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes, I'm a PD8-user.
    The first attempt of installing Sygate Firewall was a disaster, probably due to a previous install/uninstall of Sunbelt Firewall, but the second attempt was successfull.
    Sygate also survived in a frozen snapshot (-35°C), which is also a plus point ...... I mean a minus point ...... in a positive sense. o_O

    LnS, Sunbelt, Filseclab and Sygate had one thing in common : I got access to Wilders, which also indicates a compatibility with my router DI-604 and its new firmware v3.15.
     
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes I forgot, "no beta". I don't even understand a normal firewall. :D
    Thanks anyway. :)
     
  13. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Outpost...any number of versions, from older to newest here. You can disable and remove any one of the plug-ins, too. If you are into older, lighter, yet effective versions, I would recommend 2.7 (493/416).
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Eric

    You might give Online Armor a try. If you don't like the HIPS part you can just disable it. With OA you can make it complex if you want, or fire it up and forget it. Also if you are not looking for outbound protection Ghostwall is fairly easy.

    Pete
     
  15. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    A linux firewall distro....like Endian, IPCop w/Copfilter, or Untangle?
     
  16. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Aside from OP adding no beta (which anyone could have guessed was an inadvertent omission), PC Tools is a re-branded Look 'n Stop, and he did not want that one either. Nice try.

    The OP did not say which OS he is using. Are we all assuming its XP?
     
  17. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Actually, he did ;)

     
  18. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes I have WinXPproSP2 and many thanks for the last suggestions.
    I'm running now :
    1. Look'n'Stop in my actual online-snapshot
    2. Sunbelt Firewall in test-snapshot-3
    3. Filseclab in test-snapshot-4
    4. Sygate Firewall in test-snapshot-5

    So I have still room for 5 other Firewalls.
    The final goal is like this :

    1. On/Off-line Snapshot + Windows Firewall.
    That snapshot is always off-line, except when I have to upgrade/activate software. So this snapshot has always very short internet connections and isn't used for on-line activities.

    2. On-line Snapshot + New Firewall
    That snapshot is the troublemaker and needs a better firewall.
    I don't really care if some infection passes through my firewall, because it will be considered as a CHANGE on my harddisk by FDISR and removed during the next reboot.
    If FDISR doesn't do the job, I still have a CLEAN archive and a CLEAN image to remove the infection(s).

    That's why I'm re-installing my computer from scratch to collect these CLEAN images and each image can be converted into a FDISR-archive as many times I want. Once I have these images/archives, I will use them only for restoration, not for daily backup.
    For daily backup, I have another group of images/archives, which I consider always as possible infected, because they have been on-line too long.

    My security isn't really based on security softwares, which I don't trust, they fail too much.
    My security is based on recovery softwares, which I do trust and they never failed until now.
     
  19. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater

    Whoops...

    FDISR - Is that the Raxco product? Are those full disk images like Acronis, or something else. Ever think of trying Deep Freeze? It rolls the system back after a reboot.
     
  20. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    DeepFreeze is too limited in its possibilities. Not really an alternative, just another immediate system recovery software in the row.
    I have space enough for FDISR.
    FYI, Raxco doesn't sell FDISR anymore, Horizon Datasys (RollbackRx) does.
    I replaced ATI with ShadowProtect. ATI too slow.
    The fastest backup utility is still FDISR (archives).
     
  21. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    There's also a nice sticky in this forum : Other Firewalls Sticky Posts and Other Useful Links
     
  22. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Erik,

    Give Outpost a home in one of those FD-ISR SS. I don't think you will be disappointed. It's super flexible, you can add or re-move / dis-able plug-ins. It's ready to roll out of the box. Easily configured if you have a network (I know, I know, you don't have a network) But I'm just saying. It's very easy yet a powerful piece of software. The only software it had an issue w/ was SpyWare Doctor. And that was only on one of my boxes. Never had issues w/ FD-ISR, ATI, ShadowProtect...

    Enough from me, just give it a shot.

    ...screamer
     
  23. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Are you testing compatability of software with various firewallso_O Just curious as to why so many different FW...
     
  24. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I am a FirstDefense-ISR user, which means I can have 10 different system partitions[C:] on the very same harddisk[C:] and these are called snapshots.
    So I can test 10 different Firewalls on my computer at the same time, but I have to boot in each snapshot first.
    At this moment I have 4 different firewalls in 4 different snapshots

    If I don't want certain snapshots anymore on my harddisk[C:], but I like to keep them for later, I can archive these snapshots to my external harddisk and remove them from my harddisk[C:] and restore them later when I need them back. The number of archives is unlimited, the maximum number of bootable snapshots = 10.

    With FDISR you can store ANY SITUATION of your system partition, for any reason in an archive and call it back when you need it.
     
  25. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I was just curious if you were changing what your main firewall would be, or if maybe you to do your own matousec-like testing....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.