Need Advice on Processor

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by Douglas, Dec 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Hello all,
    I know this isn't security related, but you're the guys and gals I trust most, so here is my question.

I am a total newbie when it comes to hardware. I did just recently install a 80g HD, but it took me quite a bit of effort.
    I'd like to get a new processor (mine is a Pentium ll ).
    The questions:
    1) Can I just go out and get a top of the line processor, or do I need to know other things first?
    2) Could I install it myself (I DO like to learn), or would it be better to have a professional do it?

Sorry if these questions are a bit silly, but this is very new for me.

Thanks,
    Douglas

2. beetlejuice

beetlejuice Registered Member

How old is your computer? CPU how many Mhz?

3. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Hi beetlejuice,

I don't know the age. I bought it from a guy who built it part by part. It was a least a few years old I imagine, because the hard drive went out on me and I had to buy a new one.

355Mhz.

Regards,
    Douglas

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

You really need to find out how much ram your board will support. You can not just drop a very fast proc in a comp that does not have the supporting hard and software. Use your system information in your comp and find out what mother board you have and contact a reputable computer shop and they should be able to tell you what your system will support. I hope this will help you. ;)

5. Douglas

Douglas Guest

Hi bigc73542 :),

Yes it does help. It seems to me, then, if I really want to upgrade, I may need to think about a motherboard also. Correct?

Thanks,
    Douglas

6. bigc73542

It is one possibility. You may be able to put a large enough proc. in to do what you want to. If you just want to look at a few mother boards to see what is out there you can go to the link and look around.