NAV 2006

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Howard Kaikow, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    1. Is it my imagination, does NAV 2006 use less resources than NAV 2005?

    2. During the instal of NAV 2006, I got lots of msiexec.exe messages, yet the install continued when
    I clicked on OK each time.

    Is this a known issue?

    Worakaround?

    3. The Norton Protection Center insists on warning me that I have automatic Windows Update disabled.
    Other than by enabling Windows update, any way to disable that warning.

    4. NAV 2006 seems to have eliminated the Norton Protection Bin.
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    You said :
    yes - 2005 also had a few problems which were ironed out by the end of '05.

    2. I dont know, maybe someone else can answer.

    and...
    yes I think - right click the icon, hover over alert options and untick Show...alerts, also from within a Norton window, select options, NPC, choose the correct one and untick.

    4. cant help you with that.
     
  3. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    Norton Protection Bin is a feature of Norton Utilities on Norton Systemworks. The feature was never found on the standalone NAV.
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York

    Wrong. ;) NAV 2003 Pro included data-recovery and data-cleaning tools(Norton protection bin).



    tD
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    It was in the NAV 2005 3-user pack.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    THat are already unticked in both places, so I guess this is a bug in NAV.
    Maybe if I reboot?

    I was just reporting that the critter was not present.
    I'm happy it is gone!.
     
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I'm not a fan of that 'dashboard,' Norton Protection Center. Its a bit of a goad to the average user to buy new software with its 'limited coverage' advice and links to the Symantec store.
    Howard have you tried disabling it. I dont know if it will bulk if you stop the service or any startup, someone else might know, might be worth a try to stop those alerts.
     
  8. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I'm not a fan of stopping a service without first having proper documentation.
    Has Symantech documented that we can, and how to, stop the service.
     
  9. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Howard, you said :
    I have the installer still for Norton Save & Restore after looking at it (Norton Protection Center comes with all the programs now I think,) and so I ran a vm and tried it out.
    I notice in services the startup type is manual, and then go on to stop the service. The icon in the notification tray immediately disappeared and the program no longer gave any alerts. Bringing up a Norton window and selecting NPC started the service again.
    Stopping the service again and changing the type to disable and then selecting NPC gives a Norton window telling you about how the NPC reports on the security of your system then goes on to tell you to reboot because the service did not load and a link to Symantec if it happens again.
    There are no NPC startup programs as I can see only this service. Nothing else happend although this was just a xp virtual playground with only Norton Save & Restore and the Norton Protection Center and not Norton Antivirus, with a few other programs. Save & Restore seemed to work okay and I noticed nothing else.
    Dont know if you would get a helpful reply from Symantec with this, maybe someone else using nav and a productive system has done this and can reply.
     
  10. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    When I was running NAV 2006, I "disabled" NPC in Services. Doing so didn't seem to cause any harm. I don't use NAV 2006 any more because of other isssues I had with it. Those issues occured before I disabled NPC. I'll probably give the new NAV 2007 a try when it comes out, just to see what it's like.
     
  11. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    "helpful reply from Symantec" is an oxymoron.
    I will not disable a service without written documentation, or a KB article, stating that this can be done.
     
  12. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I use NAV ONLY because I can purchase the critter for $0, or very little, AFTER rebates.
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i can get nav free from bt but you dont see me using it=p read sig
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I cannot see what you are using, as I am not a fly on your wall.

    I guess your piggy bank is fuller than mine.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ye it is. but anyway i wont use norton ever again. used it in past and dont trust it.
     
  16. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Howard said :
    I cannot give you what you want and I respect what your saying.

    What I can say is that Norton programs will not complain and the only error will be in the event log, one of those - 'The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or...'

    for anyone else it can be disabled in 'services'

    Choose Start-Run...type services.msc-Enter
    Scroll down to Norton Protection Center Service and Disable it from there.

    ...also you could choose the hardware profile that you would disable it for.

    r/click on the NPC service-properties-click log on tab-select the profile that you wish to disable it for-disable-Apply-then stop service
     
  17. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    I'm not trying to start an argument, I'm just curious. If you use NAV only because you can get it for very little or $0, to me that means you don't like NAV/Symantec all that well, but hey, it's free, or close to it. Why not use one of the free AVs that are available?
     
  18. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    I am not convinced that any of the FREE AVs are as good as NAV.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well wait for the av-compartives tomorrow to see..

    and im my opintion nav's detection rate isnt to good and slows down your pc. and it is hard to completely remove.

    i have a stab at norton when ever i can cos i used to use it for about 3.5years and it was 3.5years of hell
     
  20. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Good enough reason. :)
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    If one only considers the detection rates, only Avira can come close to NAV. In fact if one considers the Retro test results it is better than NAV in my view.

    I used NAV for about 4 years with complete satisfaction. I think that 2003 was the last year I used it. I had no trouble removing it, and have no regrets.

    I would not be critical of anyone who used it. If it suits you then have at it.
    But there are a lot of objections as to its resource usage, and the claim that it almost takes over one's computer. I admit I did not experience that.

    While I do not think it is as good at detection, I would personally prefer Avast Home to NAV.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  22. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Each one of us has to decide the trade-off among features that are acceptable, and the cost.

    Those of us in the USA can obtain a number of products, including, NAV at $0, or low, cost after rebates, most of the year. Do not know how this is in other countries.

    Not to mention, I would never rely on a FREE product for things such as AV or backup software.
     
  23. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Symantec products do tend to use more resources than competing products, and do tend to integrate more tightly, thus needlessly affecting other software.
    And Symantec support is ..., well I should not curse here!

    Taking cost into account, I'll choose NAV. Cannot beat 3-user license for $0, with no shipping charge, after rebate.
     
  24. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Howard,

    I would not dispute what you have said. However, I just love freebies. I am using the year trial of F-Secure on my laptop. Not a bad freebie.:D
    On the other computer I am using KAV6, but it is not free.:mad: But it is my favorite after having tried a couple of others including NOD and BD. NOD is a superb AV. I had too many compatibility issues with BD, but if it runs well it is a fine AV also.

    I like both KAV and F-Secure, but have used Avast and have put it on a couple of machines, including my daughter's, without trouble through the years.

    I personally think that safe users can use even the poorest (detection rates) without trouble, and know several who have used AVG for years without infection.

    But, as you say each of us has to make that decision.

    Thanks for the reply,
    Jerry
     
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    as i said i really didnt like norton but my dad insisted on using it saying it will be beter this time. in till in the end i got him to get f-secure.

    i do like f-secure but it uses a bit to much resourse and after using antivir on a laptop today i might be getting that soon. but if kaspersky iron out the bugs that will be worth an extra try and same with bitdefender
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.