NAT routers

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Sherry22, Mar 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sherry22

    Sherry22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    I have read a few of the posts here recommending these. I am on dial up however. Are there any that work for dial up? And are they recommended in that case? It will be a while before cable is available where I am. Thanks.
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I really don't think there is a nat router for dial up. I would just keep a software firewall configured and running to protect you in and outgoing traffic.

    bigc
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater

    Dial up, please accept my sympathies.
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Dial-up capability is available in some routers, usually as a back-up via an external modem and serial port. Unfortunately these models usually come at a price. It would probably be best to stick with a software firewall for now.

    Once you move to broadband you can review your options again.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.