NAT routers

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Sherry22, Mar 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sherry22

    Sherry22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    I have read a few of the posts here recommending these. I am on dial up however. Are there any that work for dial up? And are they recommended in that case? It will be a while before cable is available where I am. Thanks.
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,902
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I really don't think there is a nat router for dial up. I would just keep a software firewall configured and running to protect you in and outgoing traffic.

    bigc
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    67,023
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater

    Dial up, please accept my sympathies.
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Dial-up capability is available in some routers, usually as a back-up via an external modem and serial port. Unfortunately these models usually come at a price. It would probably be best to stick with a software firewall for now.

    Once you move to broadband you can review your options again.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.