Naming backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CWBillow, Jan 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    If I schedule a backup for every night at, say, 2am, how do deal with the naming of the files so that prior backups do not get overwritten?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Do you mean other than manually renaming them before the next scheduled backup runs?
     
  3. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    I don't like the sound of that question... it sounds like a "No"...

    But yes, I was hoping...

    Chuck
     
  4. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Well, not really .... I seem to remember some other posts saying that in the Secure Zone, when it gets full, TI will remove the oldest to make room for the new backups. So if you have a large enough SZ, maybe the older backups would not matter.

    But perhaps someone else might know of a renaming method.
     
  5. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    I'll keep my eyes open.... thanks.

    Chuck
     
  6. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    The only way to do this is to write a script or program to do the renaming and run it after the backup, e.g. using TI's after-backup command feature.
     
  7. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    Ah... that's what I need to do... run the backup and then on exit a script or bat file could rename...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
     
  8. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    You could set up seven jobs.
    MondayBackup to run at 2 on Mondays
    TuesdayBackup " " " " " Tuesdays
    etc.
    Really doesn't take too long to set them all up and this way a FridayBackup will not be written over until the next FridayBackup.
    I have 3 scheduled tasks, one on MonThur, one on TueFri and one for WedSat. Plus a weekly run only on Sundays.
     
  9. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    That's a good idea... thanks.

    I have another thread here about how I might copy a task so that I can assure sameness in the file selection...

    Ideas?

    Chuck
     
  10. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Well, different versions keep the scripts in different places, but Ver 8 build 937 stores them in
    C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts
    There is a "display name" parameter that could be changed but the script files themselves have very odd and cryptic names. I don't think you could name your copy just anything.
    I only do Full B/Us, so selecting files wasn't an issue for me.
     
  11. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    OK, I opened a script file, changed the "display name" parameter to Testing Copied Script, changed the "backup uuid" parameter to Test Script and saved the file as TestScript.tib.tis
    I launched TI and sure enough it shows up. Now the question is, will it run? Might try later, but I don't have the time now if something goes south.
     
  12. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    I'll take a look... thanks.

    Chuck
     
  13. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    I've done some work with .tis files; take a look at this thread...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.