MYFreeAntivirus 2012

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by thanhtai2009, Jul 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The prices of the retail versions of the MyAntivirus products seem pretty high. The free version is good value since it looks like it probably is using the BD antivirus engine.

    Are there any proper reviews on the free version yet?
     
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Um, because it is using the BD engine? There is no "probably" about it.

    The product was just released so that isn't likely. Doesn't appear that they intend to participate in any tests and will rely solely on BitDefender results. :cool:
     
  3. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I mentioned in one of my previous post that setting it to quarantine, it was just blocking not quarantining. I didn't tried deny. Anyone with the same thing & also tried deny, what it does?

    By the way

    I find it better than Roboscan as here in my tests the detection seems the same as BitDefender where as Roboscan always lacks detection. This was a little test with fewer samples, I will test later with many more to check if the detection is same.

    Can anyone give me the latest BD engine & database version mentioned in the about screen of RoboScan?

    I have also observed that the engine version of BD in MyFreeAV is always the same or ahead when compared to the latest mentioned here in the thread Update Alerts - Bitdefender latest signatures updates. This is not the case with Roboscan, it is always behind.

    And can anyone give info why BD's engine version is almost same in the licenced product but the databases version is completely different?
    Engine in BD & licenced version is the same i.e version 7, but the databases in BD starts with 6 & in licenced products starts with 7?
     
  4. Dru

    Dru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Here's the current bd engine/db version for roboscan:

    Engine Version: 7.42997
    DB Version: 7369862.20120728
     
  5. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Thanxx. Your database is showing the date 28, its 31 today. I am from India.

    Now can anyone post the current BD engine & databases version in MyFreeAV & post here? Lets see the difference in latest engine & signatures in both the licenced products.

    Currently I am testing another free product so restored the system to its installation.


    Latest BD engine & database mentioned here in the Update Alerts thread.

    Update time: Tue Jul 31
    Signature number: 6978213
    Version: 7.43014

    The latest engine version of BD in RS is behind BD.

    But I guess if you check the latest engine version of BD in MFA, it will be ahead or the same as BD
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  6. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2094609&postcount=73

    Did you check the quarantine? The detection popup link will take you to the Events list.

    Roboscan's detection is perfectly fine and the VB100 tests prove this fact. It is okay if their site is behind, Roboscan updates 2-4 times a day. Are you taking timezones into consideration? I am in Korea and my day is ending, where as in America theirs is beginning.
     
  7. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I said it was just blocking i.e I downloaded malware on the harddisk & executed & it was just blocking, not quarantining, the setting was custom i.e move to quarantine. But the malware were still in the folder & the quarantine was empty.

    I meant RS latest engine & signatures in the product itself & not the site.

    The user who posted the latest RS engine & signatures, his latest signatures is showing the date 28? Its 31 today here in India. I dont know where he is from & what day is there.
     
  8. Dru

    Dru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    I'm in the UK so it's the 31st here as well. It seems that while the tera engine in roboscan updates everyday (I have a db version from today for that), it's a little slower in picking up bitdefender engine/db updates. The version numbers I reported were from the actual app by the way rather than the website.
     
  9. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah it says 31st on their website for the BD engine.

    But I think Naren should switch this discussion over to the Roboscan thread because we're getting off topic.
     
  10. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    My intention was not to hijack the thread.

    I posted here for few reasons.

    BD is definitely one of the best.

    And both the products are licenced version of BD.

    And I like both the products. Currently I am testing Orginal AV's v/s Licenced AV's & Licenced AV's v/s Licenced AV's (Same Licencor) I am interested in both these products so going to test & compare it heavily.

    I did few tests with others too & posted the results in Comodo Forum as here Home Grown tests are not allowed.

    Either thread I will have to mention other to compare the differences/similarity. So it will seem like hijacking.

    So if you still think its hijacking this thread let me know & I apologise for that.

    I will open a new thread for the similarities/differences, etc of both the products.
     
  11. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    I only took assumption that a mod will intervene. Sorry that you took my post the way you did. I have MYFreeAV installed and it is still downloading updates so I'll give an update later.
     
  12. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    is MYFreeAntivirus & Roboscan updating databases directly via BitDefender's update servers?
    I don't have free time to test it now :blink:
     
  13. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Testing it out on a Windows 7 VM and it seems to work pretty well.

    The only negatives noticed so far are that the sign up for the program requires email validation, initial update after installation took a long time as the update speed is very slow and the tray icon looks bad.

    In terms of malware detection it seems to be pretty good. Tested a few links and it blocked all of them from executing.
     
  14. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    I didn't took your post in a wrong way. I simply meant if as a member you think so.....

    The autoupdate is the major difference I have observed in Roboscan & MyFreeAV, atleast here on my side, as you mentioned timezone may be the issue.

    When I had installed Roboscan, I never saw multiple updates here.

    When I had MyFreeAV installed, after initial update, within 3 hours it automatically updated twice, so it seems the autoupdate are the same as paid versions i.e hourly.
     
  15. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, MFA updates directly from BitDefender's servers.
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    whats odd is when i set this to quarantine it will in fact do it automatically, when set to deny what happens is when downloading a malicious file it will pop up BUT if the file is on my drive and tried to execute it doesnt ask me it deny's it then i get another pop up saying it quarantined it.. im not sure whats different about this file vs the one you tested cloud. it seems the thing stopping the file from being downloaded though is the traffic light add on which i dont run add ons like that personally because i dont want them i also do not run wot or any of the other "link scanners" so the only useful thing to me is an actual web scanner that scans the actual traffic.

    edit i just tried it once more and i have the same above behaviour as i stated.
     
  17. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Can anyone confirm if it has the web filter sans Trafficlight ?
     
  18. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Yes it has traffic light
     
  19. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks Naren :thumb:
     
  20. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Haven't received any reply from them yet.

    Sent another email to them just now.
     
  21. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,270
    There are so many Bitdefender "clones" these days , everyone can use its engine.

    I wonder how Bitdefender is financially doing.
     
  22. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Its cool. We already know the answer to the last two it wasn't too hard to figure out. As you can tell, they are using the 2012 version w/ latest definitions because those defs are retrieved from BD's own servers. ;)

    I had gotten a support email from the three emails they sent me, and after checking things out it was clear to me that you renew the license every year, as you would do with avast. So yes, it is free for one year only and then you add another year.

    Financially they are no doubt doing great! Licensing their engine isn't free and they probably get a small portion of the income. There are far more AVs utilizing just the engine so in reality only a small handful of clones may exist. :argh:
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  23. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    You mean to say when a year completes you have to just register it again free with email?

    The confusion is with the features & the name.
    The site mentions the free version as MyFreeAntiviurs & paid version as MyAntivirus. And when we install the free version we get the paid one i.e MyAntivirus instead of MyFreeAntivirus & all the features of paid antivirus too.

    I too got 3 emails from them after registering for free AV but no such info as you mentioned.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MFA.png
      MFA.png
      File size:
      161 KB
      Views:
      9
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  24. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, that or they automatically send you a new one if you subscribed.

    So you're saying you are capable of turning on/off laptop and game mode?
     
  25. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Yes, I am capable of enabling/disabling all the features.

    The 2nd email I sent them also mentioned about this thread here & requested them the staff to join & give info about the product.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.