My uncle has 2 firewalls on his computer is this ok???

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by cheater87, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I heard that is not good to have 2 firewalls and it can cause problems. I also heard its ok to have the windows one and a software one.
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes , it can cause serious troubles.

    Windows Firewall is a firewall and there must be one firewall only . So , the second statement is wrong.
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Thanks I'll tell him to only have one.
     
  4. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks:

    Other than Window firewall, if you try to install a second one, the first one will alert/caution you the danger of installing the second one, but never alert you about Window firewall, except once; some years ago, when newly-bought laptop tried to activate pre-installed norton firewall, it requested window f.w to be turned off. Since then, I have used ZA pro, Sunbelt Kerio, McAfee, Outpost, none of them has asked Window's to be switched off. Confused.
     
  5. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    I think that is because the installation program automatically shuts off the Windows Firewall if it is on. It seems I remember reading that in the Kerio 4x manual, although I can't be sure. I think however, that any of the newer firewall's installation programs will shut it off when the new firewall is installed, and doesn't need help from the user in doing so. And...keep in mind, you're talking the older version of Norton :D
     
  6. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    If your uncle want two firewalls he can use Windows firewall together with DSA. But I would not recommend other firewall together with Windows firewall or any other firewall.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.