My Tutorial on Installing and Setting up Avira Personal Edition

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mnosteele, Nov 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    I finally finished the tutorial on how to install and setup Avira AntiVir Personal Edition (with pictures) - HERE. I hope it helps others out who are new to Avira with setting things up properly.

    :D :cool:
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Great ;)

    Thanks a bunch for creating this tutorial :thumb:
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    Can't see anything, It says Sorry Guest, you are banned from using this forum * Spam* :blink:
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Works ok here.... maybe try again, or another browser?
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Your IP or IP range have been blocked because of spamming this forum . In order to see/use the forum that has banned you , you need to contact their Administrator/Moderator.
     
  6. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    The page doesn't work with Opera, Firefox or IE.
     
  7. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Yeah. Or simply use a proxy.
     
  8. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    Or Mnosteele should put it on a forum that works for all.
     
  9. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    works here too......
     
  10. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Works here too-
    Nice job, it must have been difficult to make all those screenshots:D
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Not a good advise to spammers (not that DVD+R is but...) . :D :thumb:
     
  12. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Sorry, I get a lot of spammers from certain parts of the world and the easy thing to do is ban certain IP address ranges.

    :doubt:
     
  13. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Same here.
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    works perfect here with opera 9.6 and IE7 and good job on the tutorial.
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,212
    Thanks, it helped with a few things about scheduling updates. Your link works with Chrome, Firefox, Opera and IE.
     
  16. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
  17. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    Scheduled scan is useless (if it is must be, scanner priority should be below normal), old update alert/notification should be at least "1-2days" and update should be more often than 2 per 24 hours (don't know update frequency of Avira servers), recursion level should be much lower ("archive bomb")...
    Where are "Guard" settings/screens?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    same here works on all four of my browsers also :thumb:
     
  19. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Please stop hammering their already busy servers... Why would you need your AV definitions updated more than twice a day I really fail to see. Maybe fix your browsing habits.
     
  20. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    I do not use Avira at all, btw. some AVs have tendency to "hammer" their home servers more often (e.g. every 2-3 hours - Kaspersky by default settings, Norton pulse even often...), also my surfing habits are not questionable here, update frequency should match common user needs/surfing habits (porn, cracks, e-mail attachments, online shopping, social networks etc.) in other words more often...
     
  21. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I have Avira set up to check for updates every hour. If they can't handle that then they shouldn't allow you to configure the updates that way. Eset by default checks every hour too and I think this is becoming the norm for security apps to check frequently.


    edit: Oops I just noticed you are talking about avira free. I use avira premium.
     
  22. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    If my memory serves me right, Avira free, only allow updating once a day. I wouldn't call that hammering, rather a necessity.


    Cheers
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    to the OP, is there any chance you could make a tutorial on setting up the Premium version of Avira AV? or anybody really, cause im thinking of switching from KAV to avira premium so id like to know how to properly set mine up.
     
  24. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    That switch would be a good move IMHO...... ;)
     
  25. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ive tried out avira premium and it seems a bit more complicated than KAV, so if anybody knows any setup guides for avira premium, plz let me know.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.