My tests with av

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tinribs, Aug 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tinribs

Tinribs Registered Member

First of all let me state that although I have some years of experience with av programs these tests are in no way scientifically based (so flames can be minimised)

I have been curious about Drweb for some time now, being relatively unknown amongst the average users of such programs.

I keep a small number of live virus for testing purposes and decided to try DrWeb out on this folder,it correctly detected 2 more infected files than the programs I keep for 'second opinion' scanning (Norton 2002,F-Prot 3.12,F-Secure 5.4 all updated religiously)(Only ever one running as resident protection though)

I shant name these files and the previously undetected files have been submitted to the vendors in question.

DrWeb has a nice user interface,a fast scanning speed and low memory footprint. A tendency to be a bit aggressive is no bad thing as long as the 'detected' files are examined before action is taken.

Drweb has impressed me so much in fact that I intend to purchase the full version immediately, I wonder if the language differences may limit support somewhat but I'm sure this wont be a problem.

Above all I'm hoping that the program gains the respect due to it,it may not have the financial backing that 'makes' the top selling av's popular but I'm sure when word gets around more it will become more 'in the spotlight'

I have always seen it around and never been tempted to try until this esteemed site jogged my memory and perked up my curiosity enough to try it out,I'm glad I did.

Any other uses feedback on DrWeb?

2. Paul Wilders

Paul Wilders Administrator

Hi Tinribs,

Thanks for your evaluatuon!

We threw a couple of thousands viruses and a couple of hundreds backdoors/trojans at Dr.Web recently. Review and extensive screen shots:

www.wilders.org/anti_viruses.htm

regards.

paul