My password not working on Webroot toolbar!

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by gate1975mlm, Sep 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    I have a very strange issue going on here!

    I am running the latest beta version 8.0.2.6.

    The same password that I use to log in to my webroot page will not work when I enter it into the Webroot toolbar using IE9.

    So my password works when I log in directly at the mywebroot web site but not in the Webroot password toolbar.

    Also on my webroot web page I can't view my password settings for web sites and instead get a message saying "Its time to upgrade your webroot software".


    Here is a Screen Shot
    http://ist1-1.filesor.com/pimpandhost.com/1/_/_/_/1/1/a/I/I/1aII2/653183662.jpg

    I reinstalled Webroot and it did not fix it.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There could be possible issues:
    So I would just do the wait a see game till it is fully rolled out! ;) It's funny that the screenshot that you posted shows the 2011 product LOL

    TH
     
  3. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    Yes I noticed that it was showing the 2011 version and I found that very strange :( lol
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They could be working on those things to get ready for The Big Release and some old code got in there.

    TH
     
  5. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    I opened a support ticket on this issue as this issue is not just with the beta but also the newly final build released today.
     
  6. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Exactly the same here, mate!
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I believe this should be fixed now, but if you're still running into problems, it would be worth writing into Support again.

    Thanks, and let me know your results!
     
  8. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156

    Nope not fixed on my end.
     
  9. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello all! :)

    I've NEVER got any toolbar in any browser (IE,FF or Oera)
    Now i'm running beta closed 8.0.2.14 and still no toolbaro_O
    Any help appreciated!
    Thanks.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  10. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    ADDENDUM!:D
    I assume that my beta closed version is WSA Internet Security Plus cause in the identity & privacy tab, there is no "password management" option...
    So... why some closed beta testers got the complete version and others WSA IS Pluso_O?
    Thanks.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As far as I know including me have not received the upgrade to Complete at this time, so it will come in the near future. ;)

    Daniel
     
  12. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thanks Daniel, my friend and and my guru for your fast reply!:) I better understand now why you're a member of A(s)S(oon)A(s)P(ossible) LOL.
    *Kidding*

    Cheers my friend,
    Herve
     
  13. gate1975mlm

    gate1975mlm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    Well I ended up having to get a brand new key code and create a new account with a different E mail address.

    And everything is working again :)

    Thanks to Webroot Support team for getting this fixed for me :)
     
  14. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Over at the Webroot forum it has just been explained that the change from Essentials to Complete will occur normally when a license is RENEWED. However, once can contact Support to get a new key code but to do that yo will need to provide a new email address for it to be registered under.

    Me, with 130 days to renewal I think that I will wait. :D
     
  15. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    If you have few enough days on the license, you can go to www.webroot.com/renewal/ and put in your key. Then it offers to ADD a year to the existing time for the old Essentials price, but you get Complete instead. :D

    Not sure how many days you have to be under. I put in a 260-day essentials key and it only offered me upgrade stuff, but my 70-day key offered me renewal and now I have 435 days of Complete. It upgraded my existing days at the same time.
     
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Problem with that is whilst one has the more expensive product 'for free' the upgrade price is also more expensive than if one had renewed the Essentials product for another. Am not sure I need the Complete version given that I chose the Essentials version in the first place.

    Will have to weigh up the advantages of the Complet renewal with the 'benefits' that one has now newly got...and then decide whether I request a downgrade to Internet Security Plus instead.
     
  17. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    ? 3-seat Essentials is $59.99. When I put in there, it gave me 3-seat Complete for $59.99. So it was exactly the same cost as the Essentials renewal.
     
  18. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello Techfox1976! :)

    Have you lost your beta tester membership after doing this?
    Thanks!

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No you will be fine and still a Beta Tester!

    Daniel :D
     
  20. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I think Beta people will be auto-converted because they didn't pay originally so they can't renew normally. That takes some time though.
     
  21. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    What I see is Complete Renewal for 3 PCs for £39.99, which is the same price as buying Internet Security Plus (3 PCs) from new.

    Also, as I do not need the online back/snyc & I do not use Android or iOS-based devices, I am not sure that Complete is of any use to me...other than for the System Cleaner (but then again I have that covered by another app).

    Perhaps I will just wait and see what drops out of this whole changeover, and also see if I can downgrade/return my license to Internet Security PLus (what was Essentials)?

    Anybody know if that 'downgrade' is available/possible, if required?
     
  22. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Ha! With 1148 days remaining on Essentials, won't be in any hurry to convert and think it was Baldrick that said choosing Essentials in the first place was because that was what he wanted. Me too! :)
     
  23. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Pat

    Just posted, on the Webroot forum, my thinking about why I am considering whether I can turn down the Webroot offer of the Complete upgrade. I am just considering all angles and reviewing the pros & cons of such a move both from a functional perspective as well as a cost one. Will need to think hard on that one.

    Don't get me wrong...the offer is considerate (many a company would just have pulled the functionality from one version to another and then hunkered down and weathered the storm of customers left in the lurch, etc.) and it will no doubt suit many...so kudis to Webroot for the approach...but I am not sure it suits me...but we will see.

    Regards


    Balders
     
  24. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Seriously, before buying one of the choices to be made, it wasn't very hard for me. When viewing the "Compare" chart, only dif between Essentials/Complete had to do w/social media and cell phones. I personally don't do the social stuff, so had no interest in that feature, but looking hard at the two, didn't take me long to decide, so I'm a happy camper w/my setup. Choices, choices, choices. ;)
     
  25. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Okay, but the only Complete you can buy brand new on the website now is 5-seat for $79.99 US. So the 3-seat Complete is gone down to the price of Essentials 3-seat, but you can't get it unless upgrading from Essentials. And you can't buy Essentials anymore. So you will either keep 3-Seat essentials (US$59.99/year), with its 2GB of storage, or renew and get 3-seat Complete (US$59.99/year) with 25GB of storage, or eventually be automatically updated, or end up having to buy Plus new and lose all storage but get password stuff.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.