My PAID version transformed into a trial version for no reason!?!?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Davis P Miller, Jun 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi,

    I used the trial version to clean my heavily infected PC.

    NOD32 did such a good job that I purchased a license the following week.

    I uninstalled the trial and rebooted. Then I downloaded the commercial version with my password I was given.

    I installed the commercial version and everything was well for about 2 months... until now.

    All I did was try to update the definitions and when I checked the Information screen in NOD32 to see if the version had updated, I now see it says I have 30 days left in my trial!?!?

    How the hell did my commercial version change into a trial o_O I just sent an email to the support about this, I hope I can get an answer faster through here though.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Did you remove the Eset folder from C Drive> Program Files after uninstalling the Trial version? It sounds as though you missed this step, in which case you will need to do the following:

    Please download a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com (just updated to v2.5.25 today).

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  3. OK,

    I just downloaded a fresh copy of the commercial version (2.50.25)

    I uninstalled the one I have and rebooted and deleted the Eset folder.

    When I try to install this version 2.50.25 it gives me this error message:

    NOD32 Setup
    (120) Error occurred while registering the service. NOD32MOD_WINNT_ENGLISH_BASE

    And the only option I have is to press OK. The installation fails.

    What the hell is happening?? I want my money back.
     
  4. PlexShaw

    PlexShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    62
  5. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    You can also run this:

    c:\progra~1\eset\install\setup.exe /test

    from the run line and either post the log file (from the install directory) or send it to support.

     
  6. PlexShaw, I tried Thankful's method 10 times and no luck. I keep getting the error message.

    rumpstah, here is the log:

     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It appears to me that you didn't reboot the machine before reinstalling NOD32.
     
  8. I'm sorry, but you are wrong. I DID reboot the machine, no doubt about that.

    But lets say for arguments sake that I didn't reboot the machine. How would that cause this particular problem and how would I be able to fix it?

    It doesn't make sense... I CANT install this damn thing no matter what i do! I rebooted 1,000 times and tried installing it with every possible different combination of settings available in the installer.

    Im running with no AV for 2 days now... lets see how long this will drag out.

    I even emailed support@eset.com and the reply I got was absolutely of NO help what-so-ever:

    Instead of helping me resolve the issue and telling me what I need to do, the guy brushes me off with a one sentence reply and leaves me without an antivirus and a headache. Nice support Eset! I love how you guys help your customers when they need you.

    I guess I am left all alone to figure it out for myself...

    What a rip off!
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Just relax for a second, we will get to the bottom of the problem, once in a blue moon it takes a little time...
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    When you get that message, go ahead and reboot your computer. After restarting, go to the program files, Eset folder and run setup exe in the setup folder.
    Worth a try.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.