My impressions so far

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by mvdu, Jun 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Ok, now that I finally got ESS (1b version) running, here are some things I've noticed:

    - slower bootup time
    - home page loads slowly when I first go into Firefox

    Other than those things, it's not bad for a beta.
     
  2. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I can add - slower start of TotalCommander 7.01
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Didn't you enable some non-default options in the real-time file system protection setup?
     
  4. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
    Another thing to add- browsing through my hard disk is slow a bit(opening folders or right clicking).
     
  5. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    Yes, I forgot....I check "runtime packages". Sorry
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    what about Advanced heuristics ?
     
  7. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
    do we have to check advanced heuristics for realtime protection?
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    As far as I can remember , In Real time it is enabled by default . However , on the advanced setup tree , just above the Real-time file protection setup there was something called "antivirus protection" where both AH and run-time packers are disabled by default . I don't know the difference between these two , though.
     
  9. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
    when i enabled adv.heur. and runtime packers in realtime monitor it was slow a bit while browsing through my hard disk(bit delayed time in showing context menu when i right click on a file or extracting rar archives).
    But when i disabled both of them (or default realtime setting)it was quite normal now.BUt i have enabled both in antivirus protection.
     
  10. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I think it's better to allow adv. heur. but turn off runtime packers' checking...as far as I know adv.heur. detects new variant of threads
     
  11. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Hi.

    Recently using NOD32 2.7 and LNS firewall but really wanted to try this out so downloaded and installed (Vista). So far, I am extremely impressed. Everything seems to be running fine. Boot up, for me, is v quick and as reported elsewhere v small footprint (usually around 20mb). Ran a virus scan and that was fine. Left firewall on automatic filtering and ran some leak tests from hackers.org and it passed them all. Anyone fully tested the firewall? Outcomes/results? Anti spam module is working great too in Outlook 2007.

    This will certainly be getting my purchase when it's officially released.
     
  12. billybob666

    billybob666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    random reboots fixed, that'll do me. Very good in time I'm sure.
     
  13. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    My internet is still very slow or without connectivity when I first start my browser after booting up. It goes to a normal level shortly after. Could any setting be causing this problem?
     
  14. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I went into my network settings and unchecked the ESET firewall driver. Things are now faster at startup, and the long entries look more normal. Will unchecking that harm anything? ESS still seems to be working.
     
  15. felttippin

    felttippin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I've done a fresh install of Windows XP with all windows updates. Everything ran great. Until however, I installed the Eset NOD32 Beta 1b. Now my system is super slow, Applications Loading, Accessing the Internet, and using Applications is much slower. Even switching between 2 tabs in firefox takes forever.. I have good processor 1 Gig of memory, my applications should be snappy! When I was using Norton, it wasn't this slow.

    Is it this slow because it's a beta?
     
  16. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Well, for one now, your Firewall is disabled..
    And please don't use the Windows firewall, it scored a 0 (ZERO) out of 9625 points in the Matousec firewall tests...ouch!!!
    It's really not safe to run without a decent firewall these days so I would GLADLY rather sacrifice a minute longer bootup for a good firewall.
     
  17. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    The slow bootup is really the only bug I've found with ESS, aside from a few log entries that seem like false alams. On my computer, it has shown much more progress than a couple other betas/alphas out there. But it seems that many security programs for Vista either have the firewall service come on too late or prevent your connection for a minute or two. Norton has the happy medium.
     
  18. rembert

    rembert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Same here. I discovered websites are immediately accessible using their IP address but not via the URL. Did some more checking and discovered the problem was with DNS resolving. It appeared to be unrelated with booting up as even after several hours, it wouldn't resolve.

    Solution appeared dead simple: disable ESS and enable it again. DNS resolving works, even after a reboot. Reason? Beats me.
     
  19. felttippin

    felttippin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    FYI - The slow tab issue was due to CookieSafe a Firefox extension (not NOD32).
     
  20. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69

    You know...that's usually the case too.
    Way too many times folks will jump all over the Beta program, (or any new program they installed), when something goes wrong elsewhere, and many times it has nothing to do with it at all! (and sometimes it does)

    Many times a little digging will reveal the true culprit, and many times it's NOT what you thought it was, or blamed it on in the first place. I've seen this literally 1000's of times on the 3 Tech/Security Help sites I administrate, so I never jump to conclusions about what's causing a problem....unless there's a huge honking POPUP that says...."THIS caused your problem!!"...:D

    Event Viewer files and Google can work wonders when trying to figure out an issue.

    Dave

    P.S. - Did I use the phrase "many times" enougho_O Ya know...Many times I over-use that phrase and many times I realize that I do...but allot of times I just don't care.....well, some of the time anyway...(LOL)
     
  21. GaryRW

    GaryRW Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    OH, USA
    For a better DNS experience use OpenDNS http://www.opendns.com/

    It will also filter Known spam leaving you with only the Suspect to sort out.

    Do it now and thank me later...... :)

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.