My First Scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Rico, Feb 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,699
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi

    After following "BlackSpears" 4 page configuration of the latest version of NOD32, today my scan log contained perhaps a thousand entries.

    Many lines in scan log had [4] NOD32 saw this as locked file.

    Many lines in scan log had- password-protected file

    some applications making up the bulk of the scan log were:

    SpyBot, AdAware, Spysweeper, RegDefend, PG.

    I'm surprised TrojanHunter did not make NOD32 scan log.

    Bottom of the long long list NOD32 found "0" threats!

    Can the [4's] & password-protected files, be excluded from future scan logs? Would this be un-wise?

    Also when NOD32 popped up (scheduled scan time) I still had to press a button to get scanning. My previous AV PC-cillin would just start scanning, at the prescribed hour. Can NOD32 just start scanning?

    Thanks
    rico
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ~deleted~

    Reason: I misread what Rico was asking
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2006
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Sure, untick "list all files", however I prefer to see everything and not have hidden files.


    Just go back through the scheduled scan settings, something is not quite right there, as Nod32 will automatically begin its scan at the scheduled time.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. CyberMew

    CyberMew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    How would you make it so that it notifys me that NOD32 is starting its weekly scan? I always thought something is going wrong with my programs when it gets laggy
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If you have a standard scheduled scan Nod32 will pop up its scanning window, if you are running a silent scan it just does its job and you may/will notice a slow down while it runs.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    An alternate solution is to download from the Nod32 SSE site a little tool which you will schedule to run 2 minutes before the scan, and will pop up a balloon tooltip alerting you the scan is ready to start. That has the advantage to tell without showing the full Nod32 scanner window...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.