My 4.4 is working funny

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by udmh, Oct 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. udmh

udmh Registered Member

Hi All - "udmh" here, i'm not expert in anything electronic, and this is my first post. I've used SpywareBlaster for nearly a year on my Toshiba laptop, and it's always scanned like lightning. But on friday 01oct10, the new 4.4 version took a slow, sobbing, 30 seconds or more to complete a scan.

My laptop also slowed to a crawl, with sluggish e-mail, and websites arriving slowly, then proceeding at snail speed. A few minutes after startup, all was back to almost repeat almost normal. All my malware detection programs said the laptop was clean.

BTW, when i tried the new 4.4 in Safe Mode, it ran like a streak. No hesitation whatever (Dumb move? Well, i said i'm no expert. In any case, it encouraged me do e-mail and other stuff in Safe Mode until i figure out what's going on).

Any ideas?

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

when you say scan do you mean Loading Protection green line that fills up as it progresses? Check event viewer logs for errors or warnings and or generate systems health report

3. udmh

udmh Registered Member

Cudni - Yes, the "Load Line" at the bottom of the SpywareBlaster display fills with green instantly, just like it always did. But THEN the process turns to sludge.

The "Internet Explorer" and "Restricted Sites" are each taking at least twelve seconds to "Enable Protection", instead of the usual fraction of a second for the entire operation.

(BTW, Mozilla Firefox protection is not an issue, since i disconnected my Firefox a while ago. The browser i use is Google Chrome, but that shouldn't make any difference, uh, right?)

Now remember you are dealing with a "cyberklutz" here, Cudni, and i don't know where these 'event viewer logs' and 'health systems reports' are that you're talking about. Sorry.