Mutex Scan File Change

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by bones, Jul 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bones

    bones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Howdy......... is it normal for the different scan files to be changed when updating TDS-3? Process Guard informed me that the Mutex Scan file failed the CRC check after updating the databases earlier. It was also bigger in size.

    Tnx... bones
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi,

    No problem at all ! :)

    The Radius-file (the definitions) is updated every working day.

    The file DCSmutex.dll is sometimes updated by DiamondCS.
    Let's say on average once in a week; sometimes more times in a week, sometimes lesser.

    The file advscan.dll is on average updated, let's say, once in a several months.

    Of course this all depends on circumstances, what new Trojans are there now, etc etc.


    So: in general there is absolutely nothing wrong when your file DCSmutex.dll is changed.

    What do I do myself:
    All important files of TDS-3 are put in my crcfiles.txt, so the CRC32-test of TDS-3 will let me know whether they are changed.
    I download every working day the new definitions of TDS-3 (using the update-feature in TDS-3).
    Immediately after that I run the CRC32-test to see what has been changed.
    So I know whether DCSmutex.dll has been changed.

    I hope this answers your question.
    Cheers, Jan.
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    PS:
    I don't have Process Guard (I can't use it on my W 98 SE).
    So I have to leave that part of your question to others, sorry.
     
  4. bones

    bones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Okay, thanks, it does answer my question. It's normal for them to change on some updates. Since Process Guard will detect this, I won't bother to add them to the CRC text of TDS-3 then.

    Will register Wormguard next week so I'll have TDS-3, Process Guard and Wormguard....... along with Outpost Pro and Nod32, all behind a Cayman router. That should keep me somewhat safe for awhile. :D

    bones
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Don't forget Port Explorer to see live what's all happening on the system and possibilities to close trojans connections immediately and add to your security, while CryptoSuite helps you hiding your sensitive data even more.
     
  6. bones

    bones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    LOL.... and an A+ for your marketing savvy! :D

    Long-time PGP user here, so no need for the Crypto. May have a look-see at PE later on.

    bones
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Keep us informed about your experiences with the big five products.
    In the CryptoSuite forum Jason explains occasionally some differences between PGP and CS, think they're a very nice addition to each other, certainly with the CryptoSuite secure messaging (chat) included.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.