Mustang AddDrivers

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sgrb, Nov 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    AddDrivers is a script to install drivers ( I thought there were drivers too....)
    I've never installed drivers till now .... and now I see that a driver is a complicated stuff.
    where an .inf file gives a lot of instructions ,also about step where Register is updated.
    (as in eSAT-Si13132 example ).
    Now my driver NIC for Intel(R)82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection that is in
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\e1e6032.sys can be downloaded from HP as sp35017.exe .
    I want install it in VistaPE but as you see it is not in the form required by Mustang script..
    Or am I that don't understand ?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Drivers can be complicated. Especially Intel NIC drivers. I hate when the driver is supplied as exe file. Try to find the driver on Intel.com. Look for a Make Disk option. That will give you a usable driver. You need to use the Vista driver from that disk.
     
  3. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    Unfortunately Intel uses always .exe files ....
    I could install i t under VistaPE every time I need a connection !
     
  4. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    I 've downloaded from HP site the driver sp35017.exe
    and extracted its content >>>>
    e1000msg.dll e1e6032.din e1e6032.sys NicEtCoE.dll
    e1e6032.cat E1E6032.inf NicCo6.dll NicInE6.dll

    It seems there are the files needed by Add Drivers script.....
    I've inserted them to the folder C:\WinBuilder074\Projects\VistaPE\Drivers\srcNIC\E1E6032.inf
    and hit Play...
    From Windows console I get >>> The image in the specified directory is not a valid
    Windows PE image.
    PEIMG : Operation failed status code : 0x80070002

    Have I done some mistake ?

    Many thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    I give up.
     
  6. Stephen_C

    Stephen_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Interestingly I got exactly the same error when trying to add an NVIDIA driver using the Mustang PEBuilder plugin - even when I gave the correct path to the correct *.inf file.

    Stephen
     
  7. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    I hope ,after a good rest , you 'll fix the problem...
    VistaPE + Acronis plugin without AddDrivers is like Acronis bootable CD ....

    Since when http://www.themudcrab.com/vistapeguide_drivers.php
    has been written something has changed !
    Even the installation "example" SI3132 has the same problem (if ever has worked).
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2008
  8. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    Has been solved that problem ?

    If AddDrivers cannot work VistaPE + TI are not much helpfull ....

    Regards.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.