Multiple License "keys"

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by jimbo1199, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimbo1199

    jimbo1199 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    I bought EAVBE for 5 machines, for 2 years, which expires in mid 2010
    I would like to add more machines.

    The help file says
    "The ability to merge multiple keys works if all involved keys are owned by the same customer. In reality it can be company, organization, home user, etc. Merging of licenses is a simple process which creates a new key containing the total of all clients of all license keys involved. Expiry date of the new license key equals the expiry date of the key that would expire first. "
    ESET AU says
    "Hi there, no, you can not run with 2 licenses, it will pick the best license. You will need to enlarge your license from 5 to 10 through the Sales Office in Brisbane."

    which seems straightforward, however when I attempted to purchase another 5 new licenses to add to my current 5 I had to upgrade my existing licenses (at a huge premium on the normal cost - almost double)

    which one is right?

    My current thinking is to get 5 users for 1 year close to the annual anniversary, and next year renew for 10.

    Thoughts please :rolleyes:
     
  2. PRJUS

    PRJUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi!

    You can run with multiple licenses. The ability to do this was added in one of the newer Remote Administrator Server versions so just be sure to use the latest version and you will be fine with two or more licenses.

    You should however consider upgrading your 5 nodes to 11 now which will put you in a license band that is a little cheaper per license and have the same end date on your license. It will be a little cheaper in the long run I think.
     
  3. jimbo1199

    jimbo1199 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Well I did that and I can choose from any one of my keys, but I can only get 6 clients in administrator, it chooses my 6 user key, not my 5 user key. I can start a new administrator I suppose, but that is not what it says - which is - from the help file

    The ability to merge multiple keys works if all involved keys are owned by the same customer. In reality it can be company, organization, home user, etc. Merging of licenses is a simple process which creates a new key containing the total of all clients of all license keys involved. Expiry date of the new license key equals the expiry date of the key that would expire first.

    But how please, how...
    how do I merge keys and get to 11 users...

    how can I remove one key from the administrator.. The first 6 user key had the wrong name as the WEB e-commerce robot does not assign company name to the license which eset.com.au have replaced it so I now have three keys....

    All rather confusing really.
     
  4. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello jimbo1199,

    We have seen in issue with trying to merge license files that are older. Try getting a new copy of each license through the lost license page here and be sure to put in the EAV numbers for each instead of the email address. Once you have both of these, try importing them both and see if they merge then.
     
  5. jimbo1199

    jimbo1199 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    In the end the errant license file in the wrong name - could not be deleted, I uninstalled the Remote Admin Server, rebooted, said a mantra, a Hail Mary and invoked a druid chant. Then I reinstalled the server, added the two licence keys in the same name and hey presto it worked they added...
    This breaks all the rules I know about troubleshooting IT as now we dont know which particular part of the sequence actually worked. Oh well.

    Thanks
     
  6. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    It would be nice to know exactly what fixed it, but the important thing is that it is working now. Did you use the same license files or did you have new ones sent to you?
     
  7. jimbo1199

    jimbo1199 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    • Had an orginal in one Compnay name, 5 users - loaded
    • Bought 6 more using eset au web commerce interface (robot) loaded it - was in my name, total users now 6 in Remote Admin
    • Could not delete errant license
    • They replaced it with one in company name, loaded it, nothing.
    • Reinstalled remote admin, loaded only licences in same name (company) - now 11 users
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.