Multiple iexplore processes - help please!!

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by chris935, Mar 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Recently I have had a problem running certain applications - mainly games. I checked out taskmanager and noticed several processes of iexplore.exe running. As I was watching another one just started on its own. I ran a system check using the latest version and data files for both Ad-Aware and my virus checker PC-cillin - nothing identified. When I logged on this evening I had 5 running in under 10 minutes. After an hour break (with no input from me) I am now up to over 20!! Each time one starts, I get a liitle beep and the keyboard freezes for a few seconds.

    Attached is a log file from Hijackthis - any suggestions GREATLY appreciated

    Chris


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 11:35:36 PM, on 3/1/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedul2.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\gearsec.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Tmntsrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\pccguide.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\tmproxy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\PCCClient.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Pop3trap.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
    C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe
    D:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\HydraVision\HydraDM.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\mrtMngr.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\hp psc 900 series\Bin\hpobrt07.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony\VAIO Action Setup\VAServ.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\LVComS.exe
    D:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\HEWLET~1\AiO\Shared\Bin\hpoevm07.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hpoipm07.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher Martin\My Documents\My Downloaded Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\Shared\bin\hpOSTS07.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\Shared\bin\hpOFXM07.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.rr.com/flash/index.cfm?division=90
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechGalleryRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\ISStart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechImageStudioTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [pccguide.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\pccguide.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCCClient.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\PCCClient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop3trap.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Pop3trap.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis True Image Monitor] C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis Scheduler2 Service] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmd] "C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /startmonitor /deaf
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] D:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QAGENT] C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\ISStart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HydraVisionDesktopManager] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\HydraVision\HydraDM.exe
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = D:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HPAiODevice(hp psc 900 series) - 1.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\hp psc 900 series\Bin\hpobrt07.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: VAIO Action Setup (Server).lnk = ?
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0401.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20031216/qtinstall.info.apple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38024.5224074074
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EB387D2F-E27B-4D36-979E-847D1036C65D} (QDiagHUpdateObj Class) - http://h30043.www3.hp.com/aio/eng/check/qdiagh.cab?315
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi chris935,

    Check the items listed below in HijackThis, close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe

    Then reboot.

    A few additional questions. Are you using a popup-blocker (like the one integrated in the Google toolbar)?
    Whate sites do these windows open or connect to?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the suggestion and I will try that tonight. And yes I am using the Google pop-up blocker (don't tell me that is what is causing the problem). These processes just start up by themselves, even without any programs being opened. I do not know what sites the pop-up blocker looks at - how do I find out?
     
  4. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I think I may have misunderstood your last question! When a new iexplore process starts it does not open up a new Window (perhaps I should switch to one of these processes and see what happens - I should have thought of that before!). The processes are just listed in Task Manager and they are each about 13,000 kb in size - as you can imagine, 20 of these open chews up a lot of memory and everytime one starts it causes a kind of "hiccup" in the system and messes up the currently open program (keyboard freezes, graphics are messed up, etc...)
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi chris935,

    I don't think the Google-toolbar will be the cause of the problem. I jsut recall reading that it lists the popups it blocks somewhere and I was curious if it was working.

    Unless I missed it, I don't think you have a firewall running?
    Installing one might help you find out where the connections are going. Or a program like Port Explorer might help.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.