Multiple iexplore processes - help please!!

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by chris935, Mar 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Recently I have had a problem running certain applications - mainly games. I checked out taskmanager and noticed several processes of iexplore.exe running. As I was watching another one just started on its own. I ran a system check using the latest version and data files for both Ad-Aware and my virus checker PC-cillin - nothing identified. When I logged on this evening I had 5 running in under 10 minutes. After an hour break (with no input from me) I am now up to over 20!! Each time one starts, I get a liitle beep and the keyboard freezes for a few seconds.

    Attached is a log file from Hijackthis - any suggestions GREATLY appreciated

    Chris


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 11:35:36 PM, on 3/1/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedul2.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\gearsec.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Tmntsrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\pccguide.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\tmproxy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\PCCClient.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Pop3trap.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
    C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe
    D:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\HydraVision\HydraDM.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\mrtMngr.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\hp psc 900 series\Bin\hpobrt07.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony\VAIO Action Setup\VAServ.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\LVComS.exe
    D:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\HEWLET~1\AiO\Shared\Bin\hpoevm07.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hpoipm07.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher Martin\My Documents\My Downloaded Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\Shared\bin\hpOSTS07.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\Shared\bin\hpOFXM07.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.rr.com/flash/index.cfm?division=90
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = 127.0.0.1
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechGalleryRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\ISStart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechImageStudioTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\ImageStudio\LogiTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [pccguide.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\pccguide.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCCClient.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\PCCClient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop3trap.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2003\Pop3trap.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis True Image Monitor] C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageMonitor.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acronis Scheduler2 Service] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmd] "C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /startmonitor /deaf
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] D:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QAGENT] C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoRepair] C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\ISStart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoTray] C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HydraVisionDesktopManager] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\HydraVision\HydraDM.exe
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = D:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HPAiODevice(hp psc 900 series) - 1.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\hp psc 900 series\Bin\hpobrt07.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: VAIO Action Setup (Server).lnk = ?
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0401.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20031216/qtinstall.info.apple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38024.5224074074
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EB387D2F-E27B-4D36-979E-847D1036C65D} (QDiagHUpdateObj Class) - http://h30043.www3.hp.com/aio/eng/check/qdiagh.cab?315
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi chris935,

    Check the items listed below in HijackThis, close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe

    Then reboot.

    A few additional questions. Are you using a popup-blocker (like the one integrated in the Google toolbar)?
    Whate sites do these windows open or connect to?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the suggestion and I will try that tonight. And yes I am using the Google pop-up blocker (don't tell me that is what is causing the problem). These processes just start up by themselves, even without any programs being opened. I do not know what sites the pop-up blocker looks at - how do I find out?
     
  4. chris935

    chris935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I think I may have misunderstood your last question! When a new iexplore process starts it does not open up a new Window (perhaps I should switch to one of these processes and see what happens - I should have thought of that before!). The processes are just listed in Task Manager and they are each about 13,000 kb in size - as you can imagine, 20 of these open chews up a lot of memory and everytime one starts it causes a kind of "hiccup" in the system and messes up the currently open program (keyboard freezes, graphics are messed up, etc...)
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi chris935,

    I don't think the Google-toolbar will be the cause of the problem. I jsut recall reading that it lists the popups it blocks somewhere and I was curious if it was working.

    Unless I missed it, I don't think you have a firewall running?
    Installing one might help you find out where the connections are going. Or a program like Port Explorer might help.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.