Multiple Backups Question TI Home 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by edfeins, Dec 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I have set a schedule to make full computer backups (not incrementals) 2X per week every week with the max number of backups saved set at 6.

    Will the backups overwrite each other or will they be tagged with a date? There seems to be no info on this in the HELP. I am assuming because the setup asks for # of backups to save they will be tagged but nothing confirms that.

    Thanks,
    Ed
     
  2. Strangeman

    Strangeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    I struggled with this one for a few days, and then discovered that life is much clearer if you use TI to define a 'backup location' first rather than just specifying a folder. There is a (very) brief mention of this in the user guide, but I think more could be do to make new users more aware of this concept, as it does open up a lot more possibilities (ie you can then automatically do a weekly full backup with daily incrementals over, say, a two week cycle)
     
  3. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    That's what I did butI don't want incrementals, I want full backups 2x a week. I tested it and it overwrote the first backup with the second. There's gotta be a way or it's a glaring omision to the software.
     
  4. Strangeman

    Strangeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    Mine's only been going since Sunday, and I'm using differentials during the week, but all files are tagged with the date. I'll let you know what happens next full backup.

    BTW if you went down the 'backup location' route, the you should have seen a message telling you that there was no need to define a file name for your backup when you defined the backup task.
     
  5. edfeins

    edfeins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Well, I found this post (it applies to Version 10) and set it up according to that. I finished my 1st backup and will try a 2nd and see what happens.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=984549&postcount=5

    I never noticed that message (and I deleted and reconfigured the backup location).

    This should be such a simple and basic process. It's so frustrating.

     
  6. Strangeman

    Strangeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    As with all things in life, once you have found the answer it is quite simple.

    I hoped to find some guidance on here for getting started, I think Acronis would do well to provide more basic instructions for new users and perhaps the forum wouldn't be quite so full of complaints.

    Thanks for posting that note, though - I tried to set this up on someone else's machine yesterday and came unstuck because I hadn't realised the part about having to set up a scheduled task.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Perhaps my guides below can help with basic instructions on backup and recovery. Also, the sticky "Useful Forum Threads" has good info about backup locations.
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If yo use a Backup Location, ATI provides the filenames automatically, and each includes date & time info so the name is unique. With a Backup Location you can set limits for the number, age, or size of files in the locatin and when ATI creates a backup, if the limit is exceeded it automatically takes action. With ATI 11, this function apparently isn't working if one is doing incs or diffs, but if you're only doing full backups, no prob.

    You have to create a task to make the backups (you can set it to run manually if you want instead on on a schedule) and point the target to the Backup Location (not the directory that has the same name but select it under Backup Locations on the treee.

     
  9. Strangeman

    Strangeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    That was the part I missed the other day when setting up for someone else - I've made it bold so it stands out better for everyone.
     
  10. Strangeman

    Strangeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    UK
    For what it's worth, TI11 has just created full backup number 2 without overwriting number 1 and having done a daily differential in between. So, only another wek to go to check and see whether the third full backup displaces the first.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.