M'soft Genuine Validation tool install problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Longboard, Mar 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If this is not already covered you might want to move this or even sticky it

    There are many reports of the MGVT not installing and therefore users are unable to Dl updates if you have this problem there are a couple of solutions posted here are two links with solutions:

    I used the Sysinternals fix in this thread:
    MR is a software god!! Always comesthrough with some magic :D

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,15587928?hilite=kb892130

    The other fix is from Aumha via MS and I have not tested it

    http://aumha.net/viewtopic.php?p=109206#109206

    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2006
  2. WYBaugh

    WYBaugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Florida
    Longboard,

    Thank you very much for the links!

    I had just tried and failed with the MGVT update...come to Wilder's, view new posts and there's the answer! Can't beat it.

    Bill
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    What exactly do these fixes do to get MGVT working? Thanks.
     
  4. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks alot MerleOne,
    I had also problems with this tool and still have. I will try this one early in the morning (Belgian Time) :)
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I used The Sysinternals tool fix as described with no problem.

    The link to the MS solution and some other discussions can be found through the AUmha forum link. There seems to be a lot of toing and froing in the MS solution and IE may have to be set as the default browser to make the MS solution work.

    MS of course declines to accept that a very small % (LOL) of users may not have IE as default. :blink:

    Google "KB892130" for many links

    Regards
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    Actually I didn't had to set IE as default browser, just run some kind of executable once (WGADiag2.exe) and Windows Update Manual mode started to work again.

    .merle1.

     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.