MSE not updating

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Skip007, Mar 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skip007

    Skip007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    I read in another section of the forum that MSE had released updates today.
    When I go to update my MSE it searches and finds nothing newer than March 21, 2012 at 1:40 AM I presume Pacific Time in US. Database or version:
    1.123.62.0
    Now this worries me, could the MSE be comprised, I've scanned with SuperantiSpyware and MBAM and nothing. Should I uninstall MSE and then get latest? What is going on?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    What is the virus version you have displayed now? Updates will not be available to all around the world instantly. It will probably update in few hours
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I suppose there's a lag between the moment they provide a full definitions update at the official website (-https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx) and MSE update servers.

    Wait a while, and see if it updates then.
     
  4. Skip007

    Skip007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you both for responding. The current database that I have is:
    1.123.62.0

    I read elsewhere on this forum that the update was: Latest definition version:1.123.150.0 .
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=2032490

    It has been over 36 hours since my MSE has found an update, that is not normal for the MSE as I've had it for over a year now.
    I sense that something is not right.
     
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You got the same definitions version as one of my relatives. My best bet is that you're getting worried for nothing. :)

    By default, unless you have tweaked it, MSE will only look for updates each 24 hours. So, it all looks good if you consider that.

    You can schedule a task, with Windows Task Scheduler, to look for and install updates automatically from X in X time, though. This way, you'll be sure MSE is always up-to-date.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If all else fails, there is MSE Official Support. Tell them I sent you if you choose to use this support option.

    Regards,
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
  8. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Just so you all are aware other people were talking about this on MS Answers.

    It is odd since despite the once/day auto checking, if you manually update there were usually two or more updates per day.

    Since they seem to be so confident in their MAPS system it theoretically shouldn't matter.
     
  9. Skip007

    Skip007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    First off I want to thank ALL of you wonderful folks for helping me like this, it is so very nice to come here for the first time and be treated so kindly and so helpfully.

    I checked the link for How to update and all of that and became a little confused on which to download as they said if you had a build of such and such a number to use another download, so here is what happened:
    I uninstalled MSE and downloaded the latest installer, this is all on DIAL-UP I might add, Yes we still exist dial-up users, so that done then the update, which took roughly 5 hours, then it did another auto-update MUCH quicker, LOL, SUCCESS!

    So while I cannot figure out why it would not find the updates with the MSE I had previously the fix would seem a quick one for anyone with hi-speed internet connection.

    Again thanks, I really do appreciate it.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I live in the UK & I noticed the very same thing when I checked MSE about 30 mins ago (10:15 am GMT). MSE claimed that it hadn't been updated for two days. I just manually updated.

    Must be a gremlin.
     
  11. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    According to the mods at MSE's forums it's normal for the program to go 2 or 3 days without updating.
    During that period if MSE detects something suspicious it will use the cloud to check against the latest definitions.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I manually updated yesterday as well. My 64 bit version is fine. I'm still going with gremlins.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.