mse disappeared

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by culla, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i was updating my laptop last night when a popup told me to download a newer version of mse when i tried installing it failed i tried again after cleaning but still won't install so i put avira on it can anyone help get mse back on thanks :)
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you using Win XP & Returnil by any chance? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1644577#post1644577

    TH
     
  3. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    no i'm not although i use to have returnil2008 on it any ideas ?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    tried those nothing found still can't install :blink:
     
  6. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Might need to go in and remove registry entry's. Something might of got fouled up.
     
  7. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    I had the same problem when MSE was still in beta.
    Did you try the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility?
     
  8. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504

    just tried it found nothing mse related :(
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  10. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Ok, if ronjor's link doesn't work then I'd run the CleanUp Utility again (just to be 100% sure there's not an entry for "Microsoft Antimalware").

    Aside from those two things, I couldn't tell you.
     
  11. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    neither worked :(
     
  12. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    The warning is for RVS 2010/MSE and a fix is available for those that need it now - otherwise, the fix will be in the next public release/upgrade.

    RVS 2008 and older are not effected by this issue...

    Mike
     
  13. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i used to have returnil2008 on this by the way its an old laptop toshiba tecra but uninstalled it a long time ago
     
  14. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  15. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    didn't work :mad:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.