mse disappeared

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by culla, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i was updating my laptop last night when a popup told me to download a newer version of mse when i tried installing it failed i tried again after cleaning but still won't install so i put avira on it can anyone help get mse back on thanks :)
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,560
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you using Win XP & Returnil by any chance? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1644577#post1644577

    TH
     
  3. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    no i'm not although i use to have returnil2008 on it any ideas ?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,560
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    tried those nothing found still can't install :blink:
     
  6. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Might need to go in and remove registry entry's. Something might of got fouled up.
     
  7. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    I had the same problem when MSE was still in beta.
    Did you try the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility?
     
  8. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504

    just tried it found nothing mse related :(
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,329
    Location:
    Texas
  10. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Ok, if ronjor's link doesn't work then I'd run the CleanUp Utility again (just to be 100% sure there's not an entry for "Microsoft Antimalware").

    Aside from those two things, I couldn't tell you.
     
  11. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    neither worked :(
     
  12. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    The warning is for RVS 2010/MSE and a fix is available for those that need it now - otherwise, the fix will be in the next public release/upgrade.

    RVS 2008 and older are not effected by this issue...

    Mike
     
  13. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i used to have returnil2008 on this by the way its an old laptop toshiba tecra but uninstalled it a long time ago
     
  14. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  15. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    didn't work :mad:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.