MSE 4

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by stratoc, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    @xxJackxx :

    Just three things you need to do.

    1 - Make sure both cloud options are enabled in Windows Defender.

    2 - Enable PUA detection :
    In HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\MpEngine add DWORD MpEnablePus with value 1.

    Reboot.

    3 - Then start system maintenance and go have dinner.
    Windows Defender will do it's initial scan and build it's cache.

    When finished, you should no longer feel it having any impact on system performance.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,454
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Jack, MSE and Sandboxie work together very well, you will not experience any issue. Last time MSE and SBIE conflicted was during the very early versions of MSE1 in early 2010, long time ago. I have been recommending to use MSE along SBIE since way way before it became fashionable to do it. You ll be happy using both programs at the same time. :)

    Bo
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,348
    Location:
    USA
    Thank for the reply. I figured those settings would do. Wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything...

    @bo_elam
    I figure I might as well make full use of the Sandboxie license I bought a while back and haven't utilized to its full extent. I know you have been one of its biggest proponents and I figure with all of this ransomware going around it's probably the only solution I can count on without worry do I will give this setup a go for a bit. Not unhappy so far and no hanging on startup or shutdown, and no slowdown from browser plugins.
     
  4. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    @xxJackxx :

    You are welcome. I hope you will enjoy your new setup.
     
  5. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Look, in my experience, you are doing the right thing. Cyber security has evolved to be much more than an antimalware client installed locally. Many technologies are put in place at the backend nowadays to keep users safe. Of course one can never get 100% success but I'd say Windows 10 is pretty safe (depending on how paranoid you are, that is) out-of-the-box in the hands of an above-the-average user.
    Now regarding registry tweaks, the only one I know of is the one that enables you to keep the icon in the tray all the time. As for configuration, there are just 3 switches: Real-time protection, Cloud-based protection and Automatic Sample Submission. I keep the first two enabled and the third one disabled all the time.

    Keep us posted on your experience, I'm no Windows evangelist but I believe they've made a good job security-wise in Windows 10.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,454
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The one thing that I like best about combining MSE with Sandboxie is that neither program interferes with the other. Thats a constant, and no matter how many times you upgrade one program or the other, conflicts never arise. They never happen between this two programs. To me that's a lot, your computer is secure and without headaches.

    Bo
     
  7. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    I had problems getting Defender to update on a Windows 10 machine. Regular updates would download and install just fine, and it was just the Defender updates that would not install. Could install the Defender updates manually, but that's a big PITA. Finally got the problem fixed by running system file checker( sfc /scannow) from command prompt.
     
  8. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    USA
    Today I received an update thru WU for MSE (kb3143414) on Windows 7 HP. I installed it and restarted. The version is now MSE 4.10.205.0 and the event logs indicate a successful update.

    A "quick scan" which normally took 5 min. took 18 min. but scanned a larger number of files. Troubling, however, I noticed that the right-click context menu option to scan individual files has disappeared, and so has the checkbox in the GUI to enable PUA scanning. Reregistering the shell extension dll made no difference.

    I applied a workaround (intended for WD on Windows 8 ) to enable right-click scanning using "send to," but I haven't been able to find out if the missing right-click scan and PUA checkbox are intentional or if the update was corrupted. I ran Nirsoft's shexview, which found nothing wrong with the right-click shell extension (not disabled, file not missing).

    Edit to add: Another user is reporting missing right-click scan at the MS forum: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...vailable/a1f4ba69-4735-4618-9b23-82acf3701247



    MSE410.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,008
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41,912
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Since updating to version 4.10.205.0, I have found the same lengthy scans, and a huge total amount of files being scanned, sometimes 100,000+.

    I have narrowed the culprit to: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE. MSE takes an inordinate amount of time scanning this .exe, while piling on the number of files being scanned, solely on this .exe. I excluded this file location in Settings, and now the scans are back to being quick, 5 minutes or so, and file amounts about 59,000+ in Quick Scan mode. Watching the scan progress, I still see this .exe being scanned a few times, but now, MSE does not dwell on it. Just FYI.
     
  11. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,209
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Got that new client, and got a false positive on LibreOffice's soffice.bin.
    Virustotal says 2 engines on 56 are giving a positive result: Ikarus and Microsoft.
     
  12. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info. In my case, I didn't have Office installed when the long-scanning issue began.

    I noticed also that the memory usage of the MSE client at rest had increased from 15 MB to over 80 MB. Because of this, as well as Microsoft's non-answer regarding the missing right-click scans and concerns about how MSE would be updated after I had turned off Windows Updates due to the October "patchocalypse," I uninstalled MSE and replaced it with another product.
     
  13. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Germany
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    82,371
    Location:
    Texas
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41,912
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Confirmed with my update that the option is back! :thumb:
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    41,912
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Quick Scan seems faster: 91,644 items in less than 2 minutes!
     
  17. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    USA
    Latest version 4.10.209.0 scanned 69,000 items in around 90 seconds on my old Pentium laptop. Also confirmed right-click option is present again, though checkbox to scan for PUA's (present in 4.9) is still missing.
     
  18. What to start for initiating this system maintenance?
     
  19. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,269
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Running a full scan helps I believe
     
  20. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Hi Kees,

    Control Panel > Security and Maintenance > Maintenance > Start (Automatic) Maintenance.
     
  21. @Marin_C thanks
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.