MSE 4

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by stratoc, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    That cloud protection only exists through IE browser and Windows itself. That "Screen" stuff they have. But if you're using other browser and you prefer to have file fingeprinting disabled, you just file signatures in MSE afaik. With others, it doesn't matter what browser you use.
     
  3. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
    The first two links I posted at post #851 do not in any way indicate that MSE's cloud features are dependent on IE's SmartScreen (SS).

    One more link to add -- http://blogs.technet.com/b/mmpc/arc...ation-with-microsoft-security-essentials.aspx

    I do gather from this link and through my past reading that MSE and SS do both use MS' Dynamic Signature Service, 'in the cloud', after a client detection. How MS handles/directs that detection traffic, I do not know. But again, I don't read anything here that states MSE must be used in conjunction with SS in order to enjoy its own cloud features.

    I don't want to pass out bad information so if you can point to any reference material(s) that shows this requirement, it will be greatly appreciated.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2015
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well, that DSS is a useless thing. I've never seen it do anything useful to protect the user. But if they've improved this somehow for the Win10 release, then it would be nice.
     
  5. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
  6. remco8264

    remco8264 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    28
    Version 4.9 has also been released for Microsoft Endpoint Protection. Below are the release notes. Probably some of the changes also apply to MSE.

    Source: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3106514
     
  7. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,131
    Location:
    Germany
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
  9. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    Having a problem with WD on W10. Every time I start my laptop up, it's saying that a scan hasn't been performed in some time and needs to scan. Even when i did a scan just yesterday. Any suggestions?
     
  10. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    777
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Not running Ccleaner by any chance and have WD selected?
     
  11. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    ding ding ding, we have a winner! lol, thanks, that was it. :D
     
  12. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    777
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Guess who had the same question a week or so ago?:rolleyes: I can't remember where I found the answer, though.
     
  13. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    lol, thanks again. :thumb::thumb:
     
  14. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    One other problem that I'm having is, the WD icon isn't showing up in the taskbar. I have to open WD in the control panel, then it's ok.
     
  15. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    It's not a problem, the icon isn't displayed in the taskbar by default.
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    untick Windows Defender in CCleaner under applications and utilities. Otherwise every time you use CCleaner it is deleting the scan history of WD and making it think it needs to scan.
     
  17. Mattchu

    Mattchu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    UK
    Getting the Windows Defender icon in the task bar notification area is possible, you just have to create a registry entry. Do not do this if you aren`t comfortable working with the registry or have a current backup available..

    First off open regedit from the search icon (type in regedit -> hit enter) -> Now navigate to the key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Once there highlight the key then click in the area to the right where the keys are and select New->String Value

    Call it something like Defender and press Enter.

    Now highlight that key, right click and select Modify -> Inset the following "C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui" -hide including quotes.

    It should end up looking like the picture. Once you reboot you should have the icon in the taskbar notification area. If you want the icon not hidden in Windows 10 go to System -> Notifications and Actions -> Select which icons appear on the taskbar -> move the slider across (to on) for Windows Defender User Interface.
     

    Attached Files:

    • def.png
      def.png
      File size:
      32.9 KB
      Views:
      13
    Last edited: May 25, 2016
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,305
    Location:
    USA
    You pasted the text from the wrong key in your picture...
     
  19. Mattchu

    Mattchu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    UK
    Cheers, Doh! :oops:
     
  20. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    Thanks, I didn't know that.

    Ok thanks. I'll do that tonight. :thumb::thumb:
     
  21. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    777
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  22. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
  24. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
    That's pretty neat.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,305
    Location:
    USA
    I know, I have not been the biggest fan of MSE/Defender, but due to constant issues with other products (functionality, not security) I am taking a break from them and letting Windows do it's own thing until someone can get out a product that does not cause more problems than it solves. I will be using Sandboxie as my primary security. It seems the options for the current Windows 10 version of Defender are lacking. Does anyone have a link to a recommended guide for tweaking it (registry hacks are fine) for minimal impact? Also, is there any good reason to pair it with EMET, or does that do much for Windows 10 with mostly current software?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.