MSE 4

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by stratoc, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,922
    Location:
    USA
    What I've seen before is during boot the Security Center checks for installed and active antivirus and if it doesn't see it it pops that warning message, but the message goes away after a few seconds when the antivirus finishes loading. If that's what's happening it's not really a security problem. If it's too annoying you can configure the Security Center to not monitor for Antivirus, but that reduces security a little since there may be times when you really don't have working antivirus and it won't alert.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,028
    If a AV gets to the stage where it needs to protect itself from termination then the AV has already failed you.:thumb:
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,922
    Location:
    USA
    Can you explain why that's the case? I'm not a programmer, but I suspect it is simplistic to think that "Self Protection" is a fallback position after the AV has failed to remove the malware. Self-protection might in fact be the first response to attack before the AV swings into action.

    And regarding the supposed addition of Self-Protection to the latest version of MSE I cannot find anything on the web documenting it.
     
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,028
    Well on this thread i have seen mentioned "lines of defence" and depending on the solution most have a web filter/guard in place.But doesnt this sort of emphasise why MSE is ineffective in this respect.:doubt:

    Also i would suspect that EMET is a supplementary program for MSE.
    The zero-day component if you like so why not incorporate both products into one to strengthen MSE?

    But also hardening your browser is a bonus and a URL filter as well ,:thumb:
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,922
    Location:
    USA
    I agree that EMET is a worthy addition to a layered defense and I think using it along with MSE is a good idea, however it's not a part of MSE.
     
  6. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    Now we are in agreement.

    Let me say this, I personally notice zero impact from MSE. Perhaps a page would load a millionth of a second faster, etc. I am a very performance oriented user and ditched Norton in 2004, only when I bought a Windows 7 laptop did I again use a realtime AV. Sometimes I disable MSE to lower disk usage, I honestly cannot tell a difference. Maybe if I fired up a pc game I would but I haven't gamed in years. So MSE is tolerable for me, even though it may not be the best, I don't want to install another AV even if it may have better protection, because AV's in my setup and in my opinion are such a small part of things. I could just as easily use CCE or EEK or hitman pro to just scan dl's, but MSE causes no issues so I am just keeping it as is for now.
     
  7. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    There is quite a noticeable speed difference when extracting archives and copying files from one drive to another with MSE installed. At least, that is the case on my Win7 64-bit system.

    In both cases, there's always a long pause in the middle of completing both tasks. I always end up uninstalling MSE after a while because of this. So I've stopped even bothering with new versions.
     
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    I've put MSE back on and excluded ZA's vsmon.exe from being scanned by it and I excluded MSE's mssecs.exe from being scanned by ZA.

    Most AV products today have at least two AV engines so its safe to install one with a different engine along the one you already run.

    Just be sure they don't both scan at the same time. :D
     
  9. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,463
    It should be a part of MSE. That would impress me and make it a great replacement in the enterprise setting for AV. I've changed my mind about MSE. I think it's still lacking in areas but overall it is decent protection for the masses.

    I'd rather have people protected somewhat with MSE than with no AV at all.
     
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,922
    Location:
    USA
    EMET could be made more generally available, but it would have to auto-configure and update. It requires too much user interaction to configure at the moment.

    Of course, but since MSE must be downloaded and installed separately it makes more sense for people to install one of the other more full freatured free antiviruses IMHO. On the other hand MSE comes pre-installed on Windows 8 and I think that's good.
     
  11. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    They got rid of Windows Defender - which is suppressed if MSE is installed on a Windows PC.
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,922
    Location:
    USA
    True unless you're running Windows 8 where MSE is pre-installed and called Windows Defender...
     
  13. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    I m usin MSE 4.1 and everything is fine except the icon...
    On every boot it stays red,putting the cursor on the icon says the system is at risk. As far as I click on it, MSE window will open and it turns green.
    I dont jnow if the resident shield stays off till I open the window or it s just a bug in the icon
     
  14. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,495
    It looks like a bug, or a conflict with something in your machine.
    I've used MSE on and off since the very first beta and the icon always shows green after boot (as it should).
    You can try posting the issue at their forums.
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,854
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    phyniks, some of us were having the same icon issue with an older MSE version (see this Thread starting at Post #277).

    My post ( #278 ) details the fix that I performed at that time (still in effect today with my MSE 4.1) and I haven't had a problem since. Perhaps worth a look.
     
  16. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Joxx and JRViejo
    Thank you so much
    I searched the problem in microsoft community:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...&CurrentScope.Filter=mse&askingquestion=False

    As I had used lots of antimalwares before,I guess the conflict must be the cause of that
    I tried to copletely wipe the trace of the previous software with the help of this page:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...al-tools/407bf6da-c05d-4546-8788-0aa4c25a1f91
    Note: some softwares are not up to date,such as AVG remover

    After restart,the icon is working properly,let s hope the condition stays fine
     
  17. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,495
    I'm glad it worked. Remnants from previous installed programs are a pain.
     
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    35,854
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    phyniks, thanks for posting your results. Take care.
     
  19. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I was happy with MSE on Win7 but now I'm on Win8 and MSE aka Windows Defender doesn't have the tray icon nor can I find any way to restore it. They say refer to the action center to see any related info on WD, but it feels so insecure... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    I still don't get why they are hiding it so much... :rolleyes:
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    go to control panel and choose all programs. Scroll down to it and right click to pin it to your desktop. At least that way you have it easily at hand.
     
  21. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Yeah, this pretty much says it all right here. And this is exactly why some people use MSE. People that would otherwise use no AV's for reasons we don't, since there's no noticeable footprint on 7. And since it's 1'st party they see little chance of conflict.

    Then there are people that feel it's well suited to 64-bit Windows, for reasons stated many times in here.

    And people that see merit in both scenarios (me).

    But to me, on 32-bit XP, it would be one of my last choices.
     
  22. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    I'm having trouble with XP Pro SP3 throwing the red shield on system tray, once i go into Security Center it's saying MSE is not active, tho the tray icon is green and MSE shows realtime protection enabled. I have to manually disable realtime protection, and the re-enable it to fix this.
    It happens on every reboot. It's been like that for like a month or so. The problem is that Automatic Updates are turned on on this machine since it's my mom's so I really can't tell if it happened after and update.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  23. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    have you tryed uninstalling mse resetting the security centre and reinstalling mse? windows security centre can be flaky anyway so if mse it working fine you could always just disable security centre status.
     
  24. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    My experience with MSE is great.
    very light on system,good protection,good detection,excellent repairing.
    I ve read lots of reviews about it.Most of the experts like it and recommend it(for basic protection).
    but when I checked the tests,I get realy despaired.
    It usually underperforms in the tests....av-test,vb100,av-comparatives,comss ....
    I dont know why MSE cannot pass these tests well ...
     
  25. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I find MSE to be anything but light on my machines.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.