MSE 2.0: Quick Scan Issue?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Blues7, Mar 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I've posted this question over at the MSE site but thought I'd check in with you good folks to see if you had a thought or two...

    ...I've noticed that occasionally there is a great disparity in the number of files scanned when using the "Quick Scan" option.

    Ordinarily it's about 32,000 files (plus or minus).
    Occasionally it drops to about 9,000 (plus or minus). That's a big change.

    The scan is ordinarily run every four days.

    (I may not have rebooted during this period as my habit is to put the system to "sleep" at night rather than shut it down completely.)

    Does MSE scan only "new" unscanned files or is the program just not operating properly for some unknown reason?

    System: Windows XP Pro SP 3

    Thanks in advance for your time and replies. :thumb:
     
  2. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    As a follow-up:

    After just rebooting, it's back to 32,000+ files again.

    (Was 9,000+ this morning, which is the pattern I see intermittently after being run a time or two over several days.)
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    funkydude's your man for MSE, PM him.
     
  4. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Thanks for the tip. I'll do so.
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,854
    Despite what some of you may think I'm not an MSE man, or an AV man. I dislike AV and I'd ditch it if I wasn't too lazy. I want an AV that I can install and simply forget it even exists, MSE suits this role. AV is my backup layer that I do not want to care about, and as so, I barely invest any time whatsoever in learning about the various ways it does things. My frontlines are ClearCloud and system hardening/EMET.

    If I was to take a logical guess, I'd say that the amount of files it scans is influenced by if that file has been scanned before with the same detection database, or as some AV companies sell it to you by name, a "smart scan". This "memory" of previous files scanned is probably reset every time the database is updated.
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Apologies then. But I couldn't think of anyone off the top of my head who new it better. Thanks for helping out.:)
     
  7. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Well, thanks, funkydude...guess the question still remains open.

    I do download the definitions twice daily so as it stands I don't know if it's a glitch with MSE or it "remembers" that it had scanned certain files already that haven't changed since the last scan (four days earlier)...perhaps someone else may have some insights.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    First Quick Scan: 71044 items.
    Second Quick Scan: 13650 items.

    I seem to have the same symptoms, but on Windows 7 64-bit. Not sure of the reasons for this either.
     
  9. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Thanks for the corroboration, J L. So now we know that the behavior is exhibited across more than one Windows OS.

    My wife's XP Pro ThinkPad also exhibits the same behavior. (I checked this earlier this evening.)

    I haven't received any response from the MSE Forums thus far but will be sure to report here if I hear something.
     
  10. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    i just tried it

    1st : 14804
    2nd: 14813

    hmm i dont know what to say. mines close so far.
     
  11. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Brocke,

    The issue does not always present the "next" time I run the Quick Scan but might be the second or third time I've run it over a period of days. (Especially if I hadn't rebooted in the interim.)
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Just Quick Scanned a third time without rebooting. It continues to be low (13693).
     
  13. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    After a reboot, it now scans 70812 items.
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,854
    Pretty much confirms my guess with the exception of it resetting the "scanned file memory" on reboot rather than on database update. By the fact it seems to be hapenning to everyone, I'd wager it's probably normal behaviour.
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    What about Brocke? Is it happening to you?
     
  16. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Wanted to say thank you to J L and everyone else taking the time to help explore this issue. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    FWIW, there has yet to be a reply from the MSE Forum.
    (I do not have a ticket open with Microsoft support, however.)

    EDITED TO ADD:

    I decided to open a ticket with MS earlier today so we'll see if I get any info back from them regarding this matter.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
  17. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Got a lame, canned (overseas) reply from MS Support late last night which (incorrectly) attributed the issue to needing to clean out the %temp% folder.

    However, since I ordinarily run CCleaner prior to scans, the "temp" files are already taken care of prior to scans.

    (And the one remaining "temp" folder, which is related to a recurring scheduled task, always remains "in use".)

    I was disappointed to receive such a poor, disjointed reply from MS support which so confidently (but incorrectly) addressed the reported issue. :(
     
  18. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    That's gotta make everyone feel warm and fuzzy about the program itself.
     
  19. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Well, I still like the program if not the email response.

    Apparently this issue has been reported before on the MSE forums, I just wasn't aware of the prior threads when I posted.
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've noticed this behaviour on both 32 bit & 64 bit systems. I'm assuming it is normal behaviour. I just ran two quick scans in succession (32 bit Vista laptop) the first - 27114 items, then the second - 7456 items. It usually returns to around 27 thousand or so after a reboot.
     
  21. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    i just scanned with a reboot and i got

    14,734 not to far off from my 14804 and14813
     
  22. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Did you reboot between your other scans? What's your OS?
     
  23. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    no the others i did not.
    my OS is windows 7 32bit
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Nothing to worry. On the 2nd scan it simply skips some archive files e.g. isos.

    Panagiotis
     
  25. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    New information has been posted by Rob Koch in the MSE Forum regarding this issue.

    It did leave one question remaining to my mind, (which I posted), but it gives a pretty good general explanation imho.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.