MS update gives some XP boxes the Blue Screen

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LoneWolf, Feb 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/02/11/ms_bsod_update_glitch/
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    One of the reasons that I do not let the updates install automatically.

    I am still at XP Sp2 level, I have not updated to SP3.

    I have installed selected updates, like the conficker patch.

    Other than that, I ride the wind and trust in my ability to keep out of trouble. ;)

    In Microsoft I do not have...
     
  3. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Trust? For me, that went away a-loooong time ago.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Microsoft
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    LOL :D
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Whether Billware, Apple or Nix, my goals remain the same - to help folks utilize their OS, regardless of choice.
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    Admirable goals indeed...but for me I just try to be aware of what is going on, i.e. reading posts by more knowledgeable folk than me. :)
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    All good things you can pass along. Isn't that ;) what it's about - sharing?
     
  9. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    I got this problem. Could not figure out why I couldn't shut windows down, or run system restore.Kept getting an error and blue screen ot shut down. I can start windows, just not shut it down. :( Wonder how many others have this problem and can't figgure it out.
     
  10. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Microsoft
     
  12. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    So if this is "Tdss-rootkit" my first question is "which antimalwares detect this?" Since it is not really "new" I am not surprised Prexv does (I am sure many others, too.)

    dss rootkit silently owns the net
    http://www.prevx.com/blog/139/Tdss-r...s-the-net.html
     
  13. reidtel

    reidtel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    This is exactly what I'm experiencing. I rebooted my PC a few days ago and got the BSOD with atapi.sys in the tech information. I downloaded and burned UBCD and booted from it. I've tried several programs to repair it but none were successful. Is there a sure fire fix for this problem? I can't afford to drop big bucks on this by taking it to a repair shop and since this could possibly be a Microsoft induced problem, shouldn't they provide free support to reslove this issue?
     
  14. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,026
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    TDL3 rootkit is related to this BSOD. See this thread.
     
  15. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I downloaded and installed the Microsoft updates that included KB977165 and have experienced no problems to date. What do the experts recommend? Should I leave well enough alone or should I delete the KB977165 update? I of course am assuming that it can be deleted. As always I appreciate all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  16. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57

    Try Rootkit.Win32.TDSS remover. It is freeware dose a deep scan.

    Link:http://www.esagelab.com/
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    If you have no problems you have nothing to worry about!
     
  18. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
  19. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Try post 4 or 5 here. 4 is preferred but 5 should work if you can't perform 4...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.