MS update gives some XP boxes the Blue Screen

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LoneWolf, Feb 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,485
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/02/11/ms_bsod_update_glitch/
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,568
    One of the reasons that I do not let the updates install automatically.

    I am still at XP Sp2 level, I have not updated to SP3.

    I have installed selected updates, like the conficker patch.

    Other than that, I ride the wind and trust in my ability to keep out of trouble. ;)

    In Microsoft I do not have...
     
  3. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Trust? For me, that went away a-loooong time ago.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,311
    Location:
    Texas
    Microsoft
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,568
    LOL :D
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Whether Billware, Apple or Nix, my goals remain the same - to help folks utilize their OS, regardless of choice.
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,568
    Admirable goals indeed...but for me I just try to be aware of what is going on, i.e. reading posts by more knowledgeable folk than me. :)
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    All good things you can pass along. Isn't that ;) what it's about - sharing?
     
  9. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    I got this problem. Could not figure out why I couldn't shut windows down, or run system restore.Kept getting an error and blue screen ot shut down. I can start windows, just not shut it down. :( Wonder how many others have this problem and can't figgure it out.
     
  10. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,913
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,311
    Location:
    Texas
    Microsoft
     
  12. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    So if this is "Tdss-rootkit" my first question is "which antimalwares detect this?" Since it is not really "new" I am not surprised Prexv does (I am sure many others, too.)

    dss rootkit silently owns the net
    http://www.prevx.com/blog/139/Tdss-r...s-the-net.html
     
  13. reidtel

    reidtel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    This is exactly what I'm experiencing. I rebooted my PC a few days ago and got the BSOD with atapi.sys in the tech information. I downloaded and burned UBCD and booted from it. I've tried several programs to repair it but none were successful. Is there a sure fire fix for this problem? I can't afford to drop big bucks on this by taking it to a repair shop and since this could possibly be a Microsoft induced problem, shouldn't they provide free support to reslove this issue?
     
  14. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    TDL3 rootkit is related to this BSOD. See this thread.
     
  15. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I downloaded and installed the Microsoft updates that included KB977165 and have experienced no problems to date. What do the experts recommend? Should I leave well enough alone or should I delete the KB977165 update? I of course am assuming that it can be deleted. As always I appreciate all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  16. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57

    Try Rootkit.Win32.TDSS remover. It is freeware dose a deep scan.

    Link:http://www.esagelab.com/
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,001
    If you have no problems you have nothing to worry about!
     
  18. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,001
  19. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    Try post 4 or 5 here. 4 is preferred but 5 should work if you can't perform 4...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.