MS still pushing IE9 in updates!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Jun 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have just got an update for IE 9 come through on my notebook. How often am I going to have to hide this?

    I don't want IE 9 (does anyone?), it doesn't work on my notebook without wasting my desktop. :mad:

    Don't MS get it? o_O

    MS ... stop pushing IE 9!
     
  2. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Right click / hide update?

    Or install it for good, its not that bad actually.
     
  3. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    MS probably won't give up. When you consider the average user (meaning not us @ this board), they need to stay as up to date as possible, if for no other reason than safety/security. IE 6, 7 and 8 are not as safe as 9. So, MS keeps pushing it out...
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I did that last time as well

    It works on my desktop, but it has caused me problems on my notebook. It probably isn't that bad, but I haven't used IE for many years as there are far superior alternatives.

    The default browser on my notebook is Firefox 4.1. I have other browsers that I often use, but honestly, who needs IE 9 when you have Firefox?
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hmmmm .... I was afraid someone would say that. :D

    I suppose it's logical from their point of view. Although, I think if you refuse it once they should quit trying to push it.:(
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i think the best way to disable the update prompt is to install the thing. ;)
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Just install it... if you use Firefox or something else, then you've lost nothing...
     
  10. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I can't imagine how pressed for hard drive space you must be if you won't install this program. It's far superior to IE8...
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    IE9 installations aren't exactly flawless either. Errors can be made. Very little if any security will be increased.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It disables some desktop items (a few icons, some sidebar gadgets) on my Vista notebook. I've lost those. It works OK on my desktop PC (Win 7 64 bit).

    Nope! MS can keep IE 9, it's still pants! :thumbd:
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Considering that IE9's libraries are used in multiple ways by Windows I could see potential benefits for installing it despite not using it. You can always disable IE9...
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I hear that. Earlier today I tried to update a relative's computer to IE 9. Her computer is a Toshiba Equium laptop running Vista HP, it has 2 Gb of RAM & the CPU runs at a respectable 1.6 GHz.

    Guess what? The same sidebar problem appeared as I had on my notebook. I uninstalled it & went back to IE 8. I can understand it on my underpowered notebook, but not a relatively powerful 17 inch laptop.

    Definitely no goldfish for IE 9 now .... :mad:

    Roll on Google OS I say!
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Ermm ... maybe. I don't know about on Vista though. I'm really bored with trying to install it on 2 machines now without problems. I'm pretty sure it's still basically a Release Candidate.

    As a comparison, the SeaMonkey 2.1 RC works flawlessly on my notebook. If only Mozilla made an OS!
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    IE9 works great on my netbook so I'm a little puzzled that you are having problems, but then everybody's systems are different I guess.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Maybe, but I don't know if it is a matter of hard drive space, I think it may be a RAM problem with Vista. I have had problems installing it on two Vista machines now. As I have said before, IE 9 works perfectly well on my Win 7 desktop PC. I never use it though. I would install it on my notebook if it didn't keep affecting the sidebar. I really aren't that interested in IE 9 though. Chrome, Iron, SeaMonkey & Firefox are all superior with the right extensions. Even the slightly buggy Opera is way ahead of it IMHO.
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Is your netbook Win 7 or Vista?
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Win 7.
     
  20. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    I have a toshiba laptop with windows 7 64 bit Home Premium, and I used IE9 RC to Stable release and not a single problem. :D
     
  21. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    903
    I'd just keep hiding it and it should eventually go away. If not write MS a nasty letter. I sure as heck wouldn't install it just because they keep pushing it. :)
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think it is a Vista thing then.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, & my Win 7 HP 64 bit custom built desktop PC installed IE 9 perfectly. I think the problem lies with Vista.
     
  24. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I wonder if MS have deliberately made IE 9 problematical to install on Vista?

    Nah ... that would be akin to a conspiracy theory ... ;)
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    IE 9 installed perfectly on my Vista. I've been using Chrome as my default browser since its inception, and appreciate Google's innovative strides, but I must admit IE9 is as good as Chrome for speed and security.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.