MS still pushing IE9 in updates!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Jun 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have just got an update for IE 9 come through on my notebook. How often am I going to have to hide this?

    I don't want IE 9 (does anyone?), it doesn't work on my notebook without wasting my desktop. :mad:

    Don't MS get it? o_O

    MS ... stop pushing IE 9!
     
  2. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Right click / hide update?

    Or install it for good, its not that bad actually.
     
  3. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    MS probably won't give up. When you consider the average user (meaning not us @ this board), they need to stay as up to date as possible, if for no other reason than safety/security. IE 6, 7 and 8 are not as safe as 9. So, MS keeps pushing it out...
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I did that last time as well

    It works on my desktop, but it has caused me problems on my notebook. It probably isn't that bad, but I haven't used IE for many years as there are far superior alternatives.

    The default browser on my notebook is Firefox 4.1. I have other browsers that I often use, but honestly, who needs IE 9 when you have Firefox?
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Hmmmm .... I was afraid someone would say that. :D

    I suppose it's logical from their point of view. Although, I think if you refuse it once they should quit trying to push it.:(
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i think the best way to disable the update prompt is to install the thing. ;)
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,914
    Just install it... if you use Firefox or something else, then you've lost nothing...
     
  10. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I can't imagine how pressed for hard drive space you must be if you won't install this program. It's far superior to IE8...
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    IE9 installations aren't exactly flawless either. Errors can be made. Very little if any security will be increased.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It disables some desktop items (a few icons, some sidebar gadgets) on my Vista notebook. I've lost those. It works OK on my desktop PC (Win 7 64 bit).

    Nope! MS can keep IE 9, it's still pants! :thumbd:
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Considering that IE9's libraries are used in multiple ways by Windows I could see potential benefits for installing it despite not using it. You can always disable IE9...
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I hear that. Earlier today I tried to update a relative's computer to IE 9. Her computer is a Toshiba Equium laptop running Vista HP, it has 2 Gb of RAM & the CPU runs at a respectable 1.6 GHz.

    Guess what? The same sidebar problem appeared as I had on my notebook. I uninstalled it & went back to IE 8. I can understand it on my underpowered notebook, but not a relatively powerful 17 inch laptop.

    Definitely no goldfish for IE 9 now .... :mad:

    Roll on Google OS I say!
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Ermm ... maybe. I don't know about on Vista though. I'm really bored with trying to install it on 2 machines now without problems. I'm pretty sure it's still basically a Release Candidate.

    As a comparison, the SeaMonkey 2.1 RC works flawlessly on my notebook. If only Mozilla made an OS!
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    IE9 works great on my netbook so I'm a little puzzled that you are having problems, but then everybody's systems are different I guess.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Maybe, but I don't know if it is a matter of hard drive space, I think it may be a RAM problem with Vista. I have had problems installing it on two Vista machines now. As I have said before, IE 9 works perfectly well on my Win 7 desktop PC. I never use it though. I would install it on my notebook if it didn't keep affecting the sidebar. I really aren't that interested in IE 9 though. Chrome, Iron, SeaMonkey & Firefox are all superior with the right extensions. Even the slightly buggy Opera is way ahead of it IMHO.
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Is your netbook Win 7 or Vista?
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Win 7.
     
  20. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    I have a toshiba laptop with windows 7 64 bit Home Premium, and I used IE9 RC to Stable release and not a single problem. :D
     
  21. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    I'd just keep hiding it and it should eventually go away. If not write MS a nasty letter. I sure as heck wouldn't install it just because they keep pushing it. :)
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think it is a Vista thing then.
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, & my Win 7 HP 64 bit custom built desktop PC installed IE 9 perfectly. I think the problem lies with Vista.
     
  24. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,485
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I wonder if MS have deliberately made IE 9 problematical to install on Vista?

    Nah ... that would be akin to a conspiracy theory ... ;)
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,637
    IE 9 installed perfectly on my Vista. I've been using Chrome as my default browser since its inception, and appreciate Google's innovative strides, but I must admit IE9 is as good as Chrome for speed and security.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.