MS really hidden files....!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by godfather11, Dec 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. godfather11

godfather11 Registered Member

I stumbled across the following article, which is a few years old.
    But is it still valid?

"Microsoft's Really Hidden Files v2.1 by The Riddler June 8, 2001 " full article at the following address:

http://www.nethole.com/articles/01/08/07/1442243.shtml

It was absolutely incredible and nearly unbelievable that it could be true.
    But I don’t doubt it!
    Since we are now in Dec 2004, I am very curious and extremely interested whether the MS scam is still going on today. I mean, are there still "hidden files" which no one is supposed to find?
    I have been using Windows XP Home since April 2004 (I added SP2 when it was launched).
    If these 'hidden files' still exist, is the pass to discover them still the same as explained in this article?
    If anyone knows more about this, could you please let me know.

BTW, I have recently switched to Firefox, but still use OExpress for my e-mail.
    Many thanks.... :cool:

2. no13

no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

IMHO........
    these files were NEVER hidden
    The content.IE5 folder is still visible... and COMPLETELY editable thru Windows explorer... how? create the toolbar called "Desktop" in the taskbar... use it as a menu to navigate thru the entire system (check it out! It's fun)

In Win98/ME.....Turn on the "View hidden files" option from the "View" tab of "folder options" in control panel.
    "Go to "C:\ " then to "Windows" then "Temporary Internet files" and then "content.IE5" is visible and TOTALLY editable!!! I used to pick up flash ecards from that folder (that don't get saved using "save as" feature)

The *.mbx files are Outlook/OE inbox files... tamper wiwt them as you wish, I don't wish to tamper.

With WinXP.. I no longer bother about these things... they're unimportant.