... Mozilla/Firefox protection & limited user ...

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by AntiSerious, Jan 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AntiSerious

    AntiSerious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    ... I've noticed this with the last 3 versions of SWB ... I run as limited user most of the time (XP Pro SP2), as such SWB updates fine but the 'Mozilla/Firefox protection', while enabled, never seems to fully load ... if I 'run as', all items enable fine, but I wonder if I'm actually protected as limited user, because when I then open SWB under the limited user I see the same glitch ... is this just a GUI display hang, or have those items truly not enabled ? ... and if enabled as admin, does protection cover ALL users ? ...

    ... I hope the gif attaches ... thanks in advance ...
     

    Attached Files:

    • swb.gif
      swb.gif
      File size:
      6.3 KB
      Views:
      218
  2. AntiSerious

    AntiSerious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    ... now I remember why I don't come here more often ... sorry for the intrusion ...
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,013
    Hi,

    Sorry about the delay.

    This is on my list of things to take a look at - I should have a response for you soon. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,013
    Hi,

    I've done quite a bit of testing, and I can't seem to duplicate this issue.

    Do you have any custom Mozilla/Firefox settings that might be unusual?

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  5. AntiSerious

    AntiSerious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    ... sorry Javacool, I know you've been busy with new version releases, I didn't mean to take a shot at you ... I didn't realize you were the only one interested in/capable of responding to this, guess I'm just spoiled by my other forum ... I'm not aware of any unusual Mo/Fox settings, but I did have a bit of an adventure setting up the limited account in the first place ... if I knew that Admin settings applied to all accounts I wouldn't be so concerned, as it is I'm running Opera more and more, and Firefox in 'run as' mode ...

    ... btw, love the product, just want to be sure I get full benefit from it ...
     
  6. jobeard

    jobeard Guest

    I run the XP/Home SP2 and have implemented the LUA concept day one.
    I always login to the limited account and run FF 1.07 and Thunderbird(1.07)
    just fine. The protection system runs and until the 3.5* update, I was getting
    updated, by using the RUN AS ... feature.

    I'll wait a few days to upgrade from 3.4*
     
  7. AntiSerious

    AntiSerious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    ... if I knew that Admin settings applied to all accounts I wouldn't be so concerned ...

    :gack:
     
  8. AntiSerious

    AntiSerious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    ... well, I guess a week is enough time to prove there won't be an answer to this question ... or to my original problem ... or to why I come here at all ...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.