Mozilla Firefox Browser Stable Version Releases

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRViejo, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  2. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    160
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2023
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,896
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I have the Bookmark button displayed on the toolbar. After this update, if I click the Bookmarks button and scroll down the bookmarks and open one, then open a new tab I have to scroll down the bookmarks to find the next one I want to open. Until this update, if I scrolled down the bookmarks next time I clicked the bookmarks button it would remember where I was last time, so no scrolling.

    I hope that makes sense.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Schedule Update.
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  8. plat

    plat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,996
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Got v. 110 yesterday and it couldn't come too soon. With the last 109.x, I could no longer stream CBS World News. Spent a few days off and on trying to figure it out (Chrome and Opera didn't work either) and nothing did the trick like this update. Good deal. :)
     
  9. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8,130
    Location:
    USA
    109 crashed for me. I've been running 110 since the betas. Seems ok.
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
    UNCONFIRMED
    UNCONFIRMED
    UNCONFIRMED
    UNCONFIRMED

    i would say this is another word for "dont bother".
    and in fact they do not care any longer about v109. if they will investigate then its for v112 nightly because 111 already got beta and betas dont get much changes if not urgent.

    so those users need to update and then test again.
    (same for 102.7.0, current is 102.8.0 and a result possible with 102.10.0, thats april'23.

    and something really important - why should mozilla care about a portable which is no origin from mozilla?
    Code:
    D:\programi\x64 programi\FirefoxPortable-X64
    not meet the regular installations? the problem is not firefox, more the environment.
    why is IPv6 disabled? why this or that? why show uBo > 7k filtered events?
    why not tested a clean profile with a regular installation? what about security software where section is blank? how about windows 10, got all updates? which build? outdated?
    in fact about:support is telling nothing and pictures of the stupid windows taskmanager wont help.

    this is only a small view to the things but those are significant to get encouraged to investigate more time.
     
  12. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,380
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Updated to V 110 today. I can't log into my Credit Union. I keep getting "Access Denied". Deleting the cookies didn't help. This isn't the first time this happened after an update. Firefox is getting to be a PITA on my Mac. Back to Safari where everything works.
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
    tried a fresh profile?
    further - you cannot compare safari with apples engine webkit with mozillas gecko engine.
    webkit is a spin off from QT from KDE, gecko is very different.
    btw - did you read the news of v110?
     
  14. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Well, I DO care because the first topic is mine and happening on my system (and didn't happen before 107). And no, I don't think any extension is the culprit here, and I don't want to refresh my profile yet. :)
    So it may be unconfirmed, but I can confirm it. And I use this browser since the beginning. :)
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8,130
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly. If they can't confirm it that is probably part of why it happens.
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,385
    Just did a fresh install of Firefox. Will try to use it more often.
     
  17. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
    seems a rare problem, although 3 or 4 bug-tickets, maybe some more around millions of users.
    i dont say that they dont care, but the used versins are no longer from interest nor are used the commom solutions. so there exist no comparisons or any crash reports. (at least firefox will crash with not sufficient memory).

    and users need to create an environment to reproduce, that at least is a major issue i miss. i am not able to say anything, i just give hints to resolve.

    user with XMBC, get the most recent -> 2.19.2 and try again please. or the current beta 2.20 beta 10.

    ~~~
    firefox is worth any try. you still may dont like it, its ok. but have in mind that firefox may work on different machines in a different manner which may have a positive result, or a negative which depends on the machine, not firefox. good luck.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8,130
    Location:
    USA
    This may also contribute to why the problems come and go. I've had the crashes flip flop between releases. 1 will crash, the next one not. Then it comes back, then it's fixed again. Maybe they should compare the issues of several versions to look for recurring problems.
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
    if you experience crashes from and then, it might really helpful to narrow its boundaries:
    https://github.com/mozilla/mozregression

    from my experience, there exist (confirmed) issues when printing embedded (iframe) descriptions from ebay, or google calendar. but i was able to narrow the code change between a date so they can investigate further. i just can tell from my experience which seems beyond others, but different. so i only can advise to try beta or nightly versions or to narrow code changes for your self.

    thats a major decision here where bugs cannot be reproduced due missing environment. ask for it or dont care. Thats why "unconfirmed" is not bad in general hut on its facts those wont get a result.
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8,130
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't had those issues but mine will usually freeze when opening a site in a new tab. I guess we'll see if it continues and go from there.
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,095
  22. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I agree but however, when I created the topic there was only one similar topic, and now they are 4. I hope this doesn't mean there is an increase of memory leaks around. :)
    Also, there are a few topics on reddit as well. Only a part of them.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/y1hir8/extreme_memory_leak_on_firefox_10503/
    https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/z8ugjc/firefox_serious_memory_leak_ongoing_issue/
    https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/10y5r0k/pretty_sure_a_chrome_user_made_this/
    https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/xmlv42/serious_memory_leaks/
    https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/wl8epg/firefox_memory_leak/
     
  23. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Just FYI. Version 110, upon startup, would freeze the browser, then got a black screen, followed by a message that my AMD Display Driver (Win7 64-bit) had crashed and fixed itself. The browser became responsive after that. This happened every time the browser was started.

    Disabled Use hardware acceleration when available, restarted the browser, and it has not happened since. Believe this has something to do with it: WebGL performance improvement on Windows, MacOS and Linux. Re: Release Notes.
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    8,130
    Location:
    USA
    I've had on and off issues with hardware acceleration on Firefox since it was introduced a long time ago. Never had problems with Chrome or Edge. Most of the time it was on PCs with AMD graphics.
     
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    89,338
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Never had the issue with hardware acceleration until this version, and with it off, can't tell the difference in browsing. So, it's done. :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.