Mozilla Fire fox 9.0 Final

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by NICK ADSL UK, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,218
    Location:
    UK
    Just released with the website details to follow shortly
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Far out.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone else having problems with this? I installed it over 8.01 and it refused to run, crashes on startup. So I uninstalled it and tried again. Still broken. Put 8.01 back works fine... I don't want to delete my profile unless I know it will benefit something.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    It is on MajorGeeks but I will wait till it is up on mozilla(dot)orange
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    I pulled a copy off of Mozilla's server and one from Majorgeeks and they both have the same checksum.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    20-30% Javascript improvement - impressive. Firefox really seems to be focusing on performance and memory usage whereas Chrome seems to be hopelessly distracted with other features.
     
  8. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    It is. Good to know.

    I installed it on my desktop without issues. I don't know why the laptop wants to give me fits. Maybe it is related to that failed Kaspersky removal the other day. I guess I'll spend a few more hours messing with it. :(
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  11. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Strange, I'm still on 8.0 and the 'About Mozilla Firefox' window says that my Firefox is up-to-date even with Sandboxie and AppGuard disabled. :doubt::doubt:
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    If you want it now there is no harm in pulling it from one of the download sites.
    CRC32: 74204C13
    MD5: D9BD7159714A969D0119E09B1A49352A
    SHA-1: B2D3F9228A010BF987BB3B781D0F93299D910C19
    Match those and there should be no problem.
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It's not an official release yet.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    True, but it will be the same file tomorrow. ;)
     
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I mean that's why he can't update through the updater.
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, got it.

    Everyone keep in mind that if you use an AV or suite with Firefox addons they likely will not get an update until tomorrow, if not longer.
     
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No problems so far, except incorrect welcome screen.
     
  18. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    332
    So all these iprovements are already in the nightlies, Aurora etc, right? Because I've honestly not seen any real world differences between Chrome/FF/IE9 and I run the latest versions of each. It all comes down to no. of tabs/extensions.
     
  19. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    you can backup your profile using mozbackup from here: http://mozbackup.jasnapaka.com/
    i`m using the profile from v3 on v8 and it runs with no problems at all. ;)
     
  20. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Same thing happened to me. Upgrade from 8.0.1 to 9.0 wont stat after install. I send a crash report to Mozilla and reverted back to v8.0.1. It might be due to a add-on but I am not sure. I will wait for the official update which might be delayed if more people are effected by this crash at startup problem.
     
  21. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    I bet this has something to do with timezones.
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Salaam Raza,

    The problems lies with addons. If you have "Addon Compatibility Reporter.xpi", you need to uninstall it and leave it uninstalled. Then Firefox 9.0 will not crash. Tried it on three computers.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  23. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Hello KOR, yes I have the addon compatibility reporter installed but if it is an addon that is causing this problem then I will wait as I need all my addons. I only have three installed by the way; Addblock, nosquint and noscript.

    The addon compatibility reporter did not cause any problem in previous updates, I have had it installed since v5.
     
  24. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    AdBlock Plus and NoScript are being actively developed and shouldn't be incompatible. I don't know about nosquint.
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, I'm still going to wait for the official British English version update, either through the updater or the official page. Ya certainly don't get all this bed-wetting excitement with SeaMonkey upgrades ... thank god. ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Hadron
    Replies:
    100
    Views:
    7,187
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.