Moved from SCSI-Disk to Raid, but cant boot

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Nukerm36, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nukerm36

    Nukerm36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    High together,

    the last days I'm trying to move a Windows 2000 Server installation (Adaptec SCSI-controller with 18GB hd) to a RAID-1 (2 80GB ATA disks) based on a Promise FastTrak100 TX2. I copied the partition (only one!) from SCSI to the RAID and resized the partition from 18GB to 80GB. So far ok.

    When I try to boot from the raid, it doesn't work at all. I see just a black screen, so looks like the mbr isn't on the disk and the boot stucks. Booting from the windows 2000 cd I reinstalled the mbr. I see the installation/partition of Windows 2000 on the raid, but no boot again!?

    Could anyone give a hint what I can do or I made maybe wrong?

    Before copying I installed the win2000 drivers for the Fasttrack contoller, so this side should be ok too. One thing surprised me a little. Acronis Disk Director Suite 9.0 (newest build downloaded yesterday) showed me each disk of the raid seperatly!? So I copied from SCSI-disk to one of the raid-disks. After that I had to wait for the raid-controller to sync the 2. disk of the raid.

    Thanks for any suggestion!

    Nukem36
     
  2. Nukerm36

    Nukerm36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    High there?

    nobody any idea?

    Nukerm36
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Nukerm36,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Director Suite (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/diskdirector/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences. Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    As we understood you have used Acronis Disk Director Suite 9.0 standalone version (booted from a CD or a set of diskettes).

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (533), which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/registration/. Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    After that please copy your system partition using Acronis Disk Director Suite in Windows.

    If the problem with booting persists please do the following:

    - Download the Acronis Report utility from http://www.acronis.com/files/support/AcronisReport.exe;
    - Run Acronis Report utility and select the "Create bootable floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the floppy drive and proceed with creating the bootable diskette;
    - Boot the computer under consideration from this diskette and wait for report creation process to complete;
    - Send the 'report.txt' file from the floppy disk to support@acronis.com.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Please also include the link to this thread in your request.

    Thank you for the cooperation.

    --
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  4. Nukerm36

    Nukerm36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    High!

    Thanks for your comment. I found the solution for the problem: The computer's mainboard was defectious! The IDE-Controller on the mainboard seemed to work while copying the partitions, but wrote invalid data to the new disks. After changing the mainboard the Director suite did a perfect work! The system boots now normally!

    Thanks again!

    Nukem36
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.