Move E Partition to C??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by richardlister, Aug 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richardlister

    richardlister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    I have a badly infected (childs) PC.
    Luckily I had an acronis true imaqe (Ver 8 ) on a network nas.
    I got in a bit of a pickle and created a secure acronis partition "E" and then proceeded to restore my good partition to it.
    So now I have a dirty "A" and a good "E".
    How can I swap them then remove the dirty one (for good) and reclaim the space.
    Thanks for any help afforded.
    regards,
    Richard:(
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I think it would be better to start over. Boot the infected computer with the recovery CD and restore the good image to it.

    Xpilot
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Something is very odd here. SecureZones do not have drive letters and hard drive partitions start with C: (A: is reserved for floppy disk drives). I also didn't think TI would restore to a SZ anyway.

    Where is the image you are restoring stored now. Is it still on the NAS?

    If you boot from the TI Rescue CD, can you see the NAS and validate the image stored there?

    If you can do both of these, then I think you would be better off deleting the Secure Zone (if thre is one) after booting from the TI Rescue CD and then restoring the image as Xpilot suggested.

    If E: is the only partition on the hard drive, you can restore the image there and change the drive letter to C: in TrueImage before pressing the Proceed button to restore the image.

    I'm assuming that there are no other partitions on the hard drive except E: and the SZ, but if there are, let us know what you see. You don't want to alter the partition order to avoid boot problems with the restored image.
     
  4. richardlister

    richardlister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    back off hol and couldn't relax worrying about sorting this out!
    Anyway - you are right - I created an emergency area on the disc then ended up restoring to it so it became a new drive - that's how we got there.

    So now the real prob. I cannot boot from CD or let Acronis re boot via the loader - it simply doesn't see my hard drive or CD. I get a E000101F4 error - cannot find hard disk.
    I've got a CD with the original TID on it, I've got a NAS drive with a more recent one on it and I have a fully restored recent one on my new E: drive.

    How can I get any of them restored to the PC? I cannot see the NAS or network or local drive or DVD drive.
    thanks for any help.
    regards,
    Richard
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    One quick way, if possible, is to grab an OS CD (XP?) re-install, then re-nstall TI, then use the Windows version of TI, to grab your NAS version.

    Having said that, has any hardware changed somewhere between your first attempt at recovery and this latest one? Have you tried using the SAFE mode on the TI recovery CD? The disk not found message, is normally caused by TI not having the correct Linux drivers.

    Colin
     
  6. richardlister

    richardlister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    I've tried the windows version of TI 8 it finds the NAS ok, scans then says the disc I'm wanting to put it to is busy, let Acronis reboot, it reboots then can't see the disc.
    Help!
    Can't believe i can't just swop the the clean e: partition to become the new c:
    anyone?
    thanks,
    Richard
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That makes perfect sense. The TI 8 Rescue CD (Linux based) has essentially no support for SATA hard drives and newer hardware. It's an old version that works on old hardware. That's why it won't see your hard drive.

    What you need is a newer Rescue CD that has support for new hardware.

    Download the TI 11 Trial and install it on some system. Create the Rescue CD from TI 11. It can be used to restore TI 8 images!

    Boot the kids system with the TI 11 Rescue CD and confirm that you can see the hard drive and the NAS. Then restore the image to the drive to the C partition where it was originally.

    If you can't get the restore to run from the NAS which sometimes happens, copy the image to a USB hard drive or another hard drive that you can mount internally on the kid's computer long enough to do the restore.

    Personally, I would delete all the partitions that you have worked with on that messed up drive and start with a clean drive, but that's your option.
     
  8. richardlister

    richardlister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks J, for trying this for me. Thought I'd tried the boot disc when I made it in 06 but mustn't have gone all the way to "seeing" drives.
    I think my NAS can be used as a USB device also so maybe if TI 11 doesn't "see it" over the wireless network I can attach it to the kids PC.
    I'll respond later.
    thanks again.
    Richard
     
  9. richardlister

    richardlister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hey J,
    did as you suggested and TI 11 appears all round better. Couldn't see wireless NAS so brought it to the PC. Didn't have a usb to usb connection! Hooked up the network RJ45 cable and finally got a local connection. Copied the good tid to my new E: then restored from there and all's well. Scanned for viruses, updated windows etc took a restore point and another TI 11 image.
    Just need to reduce or remove the E: I created in acronis and allocate it back to C:
    Do I need to buy software for that?
    Thanks so much for sticking with me and advising. A few words of assurance go a long way when you are in such a mess as I was. I felt I was totally alone in the world!
    kind regards,
    Richard
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello richardlister,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that standalone versions of Acronis True Image do not support wireless network.

    Acronis solution for managing partitions (creating, deleting, resizing, moving, splitting and many other options) is Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0. It also includes a boot manager.

    We may recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 to see how the software works on your computer.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 in the respective User's Guide.

    Please visit Acronis online store to purchase the full version of the product.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Windows XP can delete partitions. You need to go into Disk Management to do that:
    Start button / Control Panel /Admistrative tools / Computer Management. On the left hand pane, you will see Disk Management (expand Storage by clicking on the + sign if you don't see Disk Management).

    Be sure you have the right disk and right click on the partition you want to delete.

    There's a trick in TI to add the unallocated space left when you delete a partition back to the C partition:

    1. In True Image, create a new SecureZone in that unallocated space using all of it.
    2. Delete the Secure Zone and select C as the partition to add the space back to.

    Disk Director is capable of this and other partion modifications, but if you only want to do this once, this will do the trick.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.