Mounting........so what???

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by max0071, Jun 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    Ok so I can mount an image, but I have to go to explorer in windows and see all the details I want. Wouldn't it be more logical to see the new logical mounted drive in the TI window so as to restore specific files.

    The detail in explorer is great, but how do you restore specific files and folders from windows explorer??

    Any adviceo_O & thnks
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Just select the file and copy it from the archive to the destination of your choice. Its really that simple.
     
  3. Azdon

    Azdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    90
    But remember, you can't restore programs that way...only data files and folders.
     
  4. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Huh!?

    A program is just a file and can be copied just like any other file.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, but if you just copied a bunch of files for a program, that program would not be installed and wouldn't run. The supporting DLLs might be missing or required Registry entries wouldn't be present. That's what was meant.

    A data file can be copied and then opened with the program that created it.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I do not read minds.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.