More tray icons antics.....

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by PaulB2005, Jan 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    Went to install NOD32 v3 on a customers PC to replace almost out of date Zone Alarm Internet Security.

    Checked PC and uninstalled ZA IS.

    Reboot and checked PC

    Installed NOD32 v3 Trial all OK

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Remove NOD32 v3 Trial. Reboot. All icons present.

    Re-download NOD32 v3 Trial and install. Reboot.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Uninstall NOD32 v3 Trial. Reboot.

    Install NOD32 v2.7 Trial.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Reboot. Out of the 7 of so Notification Tray icons that where present before only 2 load.

    Uninstall NOD 2.7 Trial. Reboot. All icons present.

    Install ZA IS. Reboot. All Icons present.

    Reboot. All Icons present.

    Reboot. All Icons present.

    Give up on NOD32......

    PC was a Compaq Presario S7300.uk

    Icons in tray are
    NVidia
    Sound
    Xerox 2400 Scanner One Touch
    Lexmark Imaging Studio
    Safely Remove Hardware
    BT Wireless Connection Manager
    Whichever AV was installed or the Red Security Centre icon (NO AV Detected)

    NOD 32 v3 Trial was 3.0.621
    NOD 32 v2.7 Trial was 2.70.39

    Updates made no difference.

    Interestingly we did find that if you logged out and then back in, all the icons loaded, but Rebooting made the icons fail to load. Usually NVidia and one of the printer icons loaded. All the programs were resident and running OK, just no tray icon.....
     
  2. SuBDivisions

    SuBDivisions Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    I'd say first you smack your customer for buying a Compaq Presario..
     
  3. Neoxellos

    Neoxellos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    I know. I had the same annoying problem, dissapearing tray icons. I didn't realize it was NOD32 3.0 untill I reinstalled 2.7 for other problems I had with version 3. That's a week ago. All systray icons are present again, allways.
     
  4. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    2.7 didn't fix it here though...
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    That's really a weird problem. Does disabling AMON / the realtime file system protection make a difference?
     
  6. MaVRiC

    MaVRiC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    I had that issue for a while also coupled with slow loading, was driving me nuts. I thought it may have been the new Outpost or Nod causing it. It was crazy, all the software was working just most of the tray Icons would not load. Found what was causing it for me, it was the new Hamachi versions.
    My solution was to manually disable Hamachi auto startup and and its network driver.
    I cant give you a definitive fix for this, Hope you sort it as it was bloody annoying to say the least.
     
  7. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Why don't you try disabling all start up items except NOD32. Then enable each 1 one by one till the icons show a problem. Sounds like some sort of conflict. Those are alot of icons. I only have 2. NOD32 and Online Armor.
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
  9. sangam

    sangam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    ahmedabad, india
    that seems to me to be a old problem of XP, & always surfaces when u have more entries in the startup, or rather some of them take longer time to load. all icons are not visible in the tray, though the applications may have loaded properly, i have noticed that nod32 ver 3.0 shows the update pop up message, but still one cannot see the nod32 icon itself in the tray.

    people in past have unsuccessfully tried to link this problem to some display drivers not loading properly, but i guess, it is really the slower system during startup, that could be possibly the reason.

    there has never been any clear solution offered so far, as far as i know, but logging off & on again generally is able to bring all icons back. one can try to disable welcome screen in XP, that would cause the user to login manually, thus taking up some time, & giving the system more time to load the services, before the user logs in, so the problem would seem to be resolved somewhat....

    one can live with this problem, as it does no harm, but offcourse you do not see the icons. and so many slower systems, out there without nod32, also are plagued by this problem.

    the difference in ver 2.7 not having any such problem & ver 3.0 having this problem, occasionally, could be that ver 2.7 was much more light on the system resources.
     
  10. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    It really is an old problem with XP. I was plagued with it on one machine when I was using NAV and still saw the behavior with v2.7. What fixed it for me was the following:

    Open "My Network Places" and in the left-hand Tasks panel, select "Hide icons for networked uPnP devices".

    There are different solutions offered on a variety of tech sites for this issue; one will work for some, while another will work for others, and none of them work for others. This one worked like a charm for me, though.
     
  11. Neoxellos

    Neoxellos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    I experienced the same with vista.
    I can confirm that.
    Rather not. I want to see if things are loaded even if I almost know for certain they are.
    Never thought of that one before but you could be right. I will keep it in mind.
     
  12. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
  13. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Better then that. Use this.

    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/taskbarplus!.htm
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.