More fun with Acronis

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Qubit, Oct 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Qubit

    Qubit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    The other day I started a restore of an image using v9 Home (3677). A couple of minutes into the restore I realized that I had selected the wrong image. Since it takes 45 min to restore the image I decided to Cancel the restore and select the correct image. BIG MISTAKE! My drive was no longer available! Had to have IT reformat the drive and restore the original image.

    Since I'm not yet ready to give up on Acronis I decided to upgrade to v10 Home (after having only bought v9 ~6 months ago :mad: ). When I went to install v10 I ran into the same problem I always run into every time I upgrade Acronis... the BSOD! The BSOD is caused by an incompatibility with a driver called FILTER.SYS and the Acronis installer.

    The workaround I've been using is:
    - Rename FILTER.SYS to FILTER.SYS.SAVE
    - Reboot Windows
    - Install Acronis update
    - Rename FILTER.SYS.SAVE to FILTER.SYS
    - Reboot Windows

    The Acronis installer is the only program that has a problem with this driver. I've been trying to find an updated FILTER.SYS file (mine is 11/25/2004) to see if that will fix the problem but I haven't found one yet.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2006
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Make the bootable TI Rescue CD and use it for all your Imaging, Recovery, and Cloning.
     
  3. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Just curious:

    What's the FILTER.SYS driver needed for? I haven't got it in my installation.
     
  4. Qubit

    Qubit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    That is exactly what I was using.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Well, when you restore a partition, as soon as you start, you begin overwriting it. At that point yu can expect that what was there will no longer be available.

    It's a bit diff when you copy a file -- only at the end of the operation is the new copy given official status and the old one marked out. But that's not practical when restoring a hard drive -- to do that you'd need a third drive to store a temporary copy and then move that to the real target drive, at which point you'd still be overwriting the existing partion(s).

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.