mks_vir BECOMES ArcaVir

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Eliot, Nov 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Here is a screenshot of the beta of ArcaVir 2005 and I must say that I am really impressed with it. A registry monitor as been added to the program and I have not tested this yet to comment. I have about 600 viren in my collection to test with. I'll post back on the scan results. :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • arca.JPG
      arca.JPG
      File size:
      48.8 KB
      Views:
      1,055
  2. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Nailed every one of them, which NOD32 and KAV5 also catch.
     
  3. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I dl'ed today and installed. It went very smooth and I am impressed with it also.
    Have not done any testing but I am already using MKS 2004. I did not activate the firewall which is included also, so I cannot comment on that.
    All in All it appears so far to have been worth the wait.
     
  4. larouse

    larouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Where can get this Product ?
     
  5. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Firewall?
    o_O I do have a firewall included in mine. LOL :D I am going to dl it again to make sure it wasn't added after I got my email from them. :D

    mks_vir is all that is available to the public, sorry. You can get this in roughly 2 weeks when it becomes final. *puppy*
     
  6. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    LMAO :D Just got an email from support telling me to right click my tray icon to get access to the firewall. :D I was so into the program and its new features I had not looked there. Talking about fast support, I got an answer before I could get the email typed. :D
     
  7. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Hey Eliot,

    How is the resource usage compared to 2004?
     
  8. stormbyte

    stormbyte AV Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    www.stormbyte.com in about two weeks.
     
  9. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Sorry for not pointing that out, I misread and thought you had found it, is kinda hidden, it took me a while to find it.

    I forgot to check the resource usage but I installed it on a comp for testing with a lower proc (1.3GH) than my main box and it was still very robust almost unnoticeable.
     
  10. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    About 50MB is what I see on the services. It has almost no impact on the system that I can tell. I have the heuristics on FFB too. (full friggin blast) :D
     
  11. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Registry monitor is a nice addition. Seems to be running pretty good so far. :D
     
  12. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    How does that compare with 2004?
     
  13. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Oops. I should have said it runs the same or tad faster. I think the 50MB is pretty much the same too. I would like to say that I ran a full scan just prior to looking at it. :D
     
  14. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Are there any other changes under the hood, besides the firewall and Regmonitor? Is it the same scanning engine as 2004? BTW the help file needs translation ;)
     
  15. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I'd agree that the RAM footprint i roughly that of the 2004 version. Not a major chnage there.

    My curiousity raised (isn't it always) I grabbed a copy since I do have an active license. This is definitely a major update. In mks_vir 2004 I was plagued with some issue that resulted in a spontaneous reboot soon after logging on. I came up with some not too satisfactory ways to avoid the problem, but we could never seem to really solve it - note I also seemed to be the only user suffering this. Well, it appears to be solved in the beta version. Smoother operation than 2004 all around.

    Speed is still excellent. I also did a few quick use challenge tests (trojans dropped during surfing) identical to those mentioned here. In this completely non-representative sampling, ArcaVir is holding it's own with KAV, which I find impressive.

    The user interface is very similar to 2004, but is developing cleaner lines and better aesthetics.

    My overall impression is very favorable thus far.

    Blue
     
  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Therefore, not ideal for the more 'mature' computer!
     
  17. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Generally I'd say yes. This is about the same RAM usage that I'm seeing with KAV 5.0 WS. On the high end among the AV's I've tested. However, if you look at CPU utilization, it looks rather benign, which reinforces the other casual impression of having minimal impact on system responsiveness. One other thing, as with the previous version, it is very easy to work with a full system scan in progress - very little in the way of system delay to the console activity.

    If I had an older, RAM and CPU light PC, my guess is that some of the classic lighter AV solutions would be more appropriate although I can't test that directly myself.

    Blue
     
  18. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    A couple of other comments:

    As NAMOR points out above, the help file needs some help. Looking into it in a little more detail, the main help document is a pdf file. There are two listed to account for the main languages covered (arcavir_en.pdf and arcavir_pl.pdf). Right now, despite the name difference, they seem to be the same file. I assume the translation hasn't made it to the beta release.

    The firewall, which Eliot notes is controlled by a right click to the menu from the system tray icon, is a separate application (firewall.exe). I've not taken a look at it yet.

    Blue
     
  19. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
  20. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    no13,

    Looks like a standard false positive issue to me. Resolved within a few days. Not unlike any of the other AV products with reasonably aggressive heuristic approaches.

    Blue
     
  21. stormbyte

    stormbyte AV Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    That is correct. But new translation will be there soon:)
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2004
  22. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Those issues have been resolved in MKS 2004 and the DVDshrink.exe FP seems to have been fixed in 2005.
     
  23. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    In my opinion, the ArcaVir is a great AV, but I don't like the pictures in the GUI. They seems dirty and very little defined...
    Maybe is a like of the developers...
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    These are JPEG artifacts. Image is compressed terribly bad.
     
  25. stormbyte

    stormbyte AV Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    97
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.