mk:@MSITStore:C:\WINDOWS\start.chm::/start.html

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by dempapa, Apr 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dempapa

dempapa Registered Member

I was infected with the mk:mad:MSITStore:C:\WINDOWS\start.chm::/start.html hijack a few days ago and have been trying to get rid of this pesky thing. There's a lot of help on various BBs but I haven't yet found a full solution for eradicating this beats from my PC.

Here's the story so far:

I run NAV with latest updates as a matter of course (not that this will touch this type of critter).

I've been running CWShredder, Ad-aware, and SpyBot for several months since I previously contracted CWS.

Yesterday I downloaded SpyFerret, SpyBlaster, and SpyGuard.

Like many other before me the usual signs were there. NOTEPAD.exe was gone but there was a NOTEPAD.exe.bak in it's place. I've sorted that out.

START.chm was there with it's payload. I tried deleting the contents yesterday and setting the file to read only. But at some point the file as deleted - I think it may be as a result of running one of the many pieces of Spyware software above but can't say for sure.

Deleted the R0 entries that show within HijackThis.

Ad-Aware showed some other registry entries so I got rid of them.

I rebooted the PC several times yesterday evening and each time all was well. I went to bed thinking maybe it's sorted. When my wife used the PC this morning she fired up Outlook, which connects automaticlly to our hotmail account and SpyGUrad popped up the warning that the IE homepage was being changed.

Form the SpyGurad messge alert, I opted to revert to my previous homepage, and notice that start.chm is back. Again I have deleted it's contents and made the file read only.