MJ Registry Watcher Novice user Help

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Krafty, Oct 22, 2019.

1. Krafty

Krafty Registered Member

First thing to say is that I am no computer expert.

I've used 'WinPatrol' for years on my Windows 8.1 laptop but will be getting a new laptop in the coming weeks which will have Windows 10.
    I found 'Winpatrol' straightforward to use. I only used the basics. Every so often I would get a popup and I would accept or not.

I have uninstalled WinPatrol and installed 'MJ Registry Watcher' to test it before putting it on my new laptop.
    I've read that Winpatrol does not work on Windows 10 and it hasn't been updated for years.

I've not touched any 'MJ Registry Watcher' settings yet but am wondering if some of the settings would be useful to change. I don't want to change anything in case I mess something up.

Is it possible to let 'MJ Registry Watcher' run as 'WinPatrol' did and only show itself when needed?

A question about 'MJ Registry Watcher' starting up automatically:

• If restarting to complete the install (for instance) of Windows Updates and I have 'MJ Registry Watcher' to start at startup will it cause a problem which I didn't have with 'WinPatrol'?
    • If I decide to automatically start 'MJ Registry Watcher' at startup what do I need to do?
    I've had a look at the setting to start at startup but don't understand what I need to do.

When shutting down my laptop do I need to exit 'MJ Registry Watcher' first or don't I have to do anything?

As it is constantly scanning, does this mean that information if being written onto the hard drive constantly?

I've attached an image of a popup I've had but don't know what it's telling me.
    If someone could explain what it means. Thanks

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  2. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member